BGG.CON! BGG.CON SPRING! BGG@SEA!
If nobody chooses the Captain card, do players have to lose their goods at the end of the round?
The only rulebook reference to it I can find is at the end of the Captain phase description, so we have been playing that goods are kept if nobody plays the Captain. It doesn't make a lot of sense my way, but we keep playing it!
You're playing correctly.
Secondly, the same question applies to plantation cards. If nobody plays the Settler, do new plantations get turned up, or do the same ones stay there until somebody plays the Settler
They stay until the Settler is chosen.