Finally got this to the table and had a couple questions I haven't seen an answer for. I think we got these right:
1). Starting with the Warlord, each player makes all their moves and resolves all their attacks before the next player moves, correct? So I can move in, destroy my enemy's Empire and drop my own Empire; now if the enemy wants to take it back during the same Warlord, he's got an Empire to deal with as well, right?
2). Movement and battles can happen in any order, so I can move my Dreadnaught in, crush my opponent's Starbase and fighter, then move two Cruisers through the newly conquered territory and attack the space beyond, all on one Warlord, right?
We played the warlord role very wrong last night. We played that everone moves and then battle. Hard to find those special cases in the rules on a few points like this one.