Monica Capalia

LA Harbor
California
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am planning to write an article in my moms club newsletter to educate other moms about board gaming. I thought I would start with some good reasons to why they should start boardgaming, with or without the kids. (forgive me if a similar thread already exists on this- I am new to BGG)

Anyway, I am looking for short and sweet reasons, bullet points; not dissertations.

Thanks in advance!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mystery McMysteryface
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We are new also.

Advantages:
Social interaction/quality time with your children/family
Time away from TV/Video games/IM/Internet
Intellectually stimulating
Educational
Fun! Fun! Fun!!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sue Hemberger

Washington
Dist of Columbia
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
fun for all ages (if you pick the right games)

doesn't require daylight or good weather

can fit into any available increment of time

relatively cheap entertainment

immediate fun/low transaction costs (don't have to drive/schedule)

structured social interaction that makes it easier for people to find pleasant ways to interact

requires active engagement vs. passive consumption

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Born To Lose, Live To Win
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Metal Undivided, Chaos For All
mbmbmbmbmb
Adults:
- Enables spending time together in a fun interactive way. Especially helpful for people who are quickly bored by small talk. Can keep social gatherings from degenerating into alcohol binges. Not that alcohol is not consumed, it just isn't the main focus like at many social gatherings.
- Certain games are better at generating meaningful social interaction with other people than regular conversation.

Kids:
- Encourages problem solving skills
- Like sports, can be opportunity for teaching sportsmanship and competitive courtesy.