Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: Newbie advice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick M
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Hi, a newbie here looking for wisdom or a gentle shove in the direction of the relevant FAQ page.

I've gotten a lot of enjoyment out of computer wargames, and my games have piqued the interest of an older relative who I think would be better able to enjoy a table top game. His area of interest is WWII Pacific, so I went to the local game shop and got a copy of Flat Top. I wasn't sure what to get and it was literally the first thing I saw going in the store, so it wasn't until I got it home that I saw "Complexity: 10/10" and "Contains 1200 pieces" and started reading the rule book.

I think we can handle the game mechanics, maybe not quickly or with 100% accuracy, but I realize that I have no idea how to handle the actual physical pieces. So, can somebody run me through the general considerations for setting up a complex game?

A big table is obviously the first step, and I've got one of those.

Should I get an organizer for the pieces, like a tackle box or drawer insert?

Should I photocopy the game forms or use the originals or print the .pdf alternatives people post on this site?

Should I tape down the map?

How many hours can I expect to put into playing a complete scenario?

Is there a way to put away an unfinished game between sessions?

Was this a big mistake?

Thanks
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff
United States
Linden
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Social Justice Wargamer
mbmbmbmbmb
Skepticist wrote:

Yeah, I would recommend you pick up a couple of counter trays. Most game stores, both online and local, sell them for about 2 bucks each.

Skepticist wrote:

Should I photocopy the game forms or use the originals or print the .pdf alternatives people post on this site?

I'm not sure exactly what this involves, but unless you have to write on it or something, the originals should be fine.