Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Russell InGA
United States
Johns Creek
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm just getting into the PG system and am really impressed about how much detail they have compressed into a fairly simple rule system. That said I am really taking issue with some of the ways that AFVs are treated with respect to Assaults.

------------------------------------------------------------

The "overrun" is a staple for wargames. PanzerBlitz (the grandfather of PG) has rules for overrun. Any number of other tactical wargames model overruns in any number of ways. The bottom line is that AFVs are hell on Infantry that is not adequately protected.

I think that PG does a poor job of modeling overruns. There is no sense of "here's my multi-ton beast come to crush your feeble infantry under my tracks!"

I think AFVs should receive at least a +1 column shift when they initiate an assault. (This can be dependent on there being no AT capable units in the hex or not being in protective terrain [Woods / Town / Entrenchment / Dug In].)

The combined arms bonus is good, but does not represent the terror of a monster just running where it wants. This modifier could be in addition to or in lieu of the Combined Arms bonus.

Additionally, if the defenders do not receive the First Fire bonus, then the AFVs do. (The Infantry have to survive the overrun in order to attempt to close assault the tank.)

--------------------------------------------------------------

I think the "one hex advance out of assault" makes very good sense for infantry type units. However, I don't think it makes any sense for AFVs. Basically the AFV should be able to drive out of the hex at full speed and go where it wants.

I am playing that AFVs leaving an assault can make a full move. (They are still subject to the "Final Shot" rule if applicable.)

--------------------------------------------------------------