Popular Tags: [View All]
Todd Sweet
United States
Geneva
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been attending this since 2005 and look forward to it every year. This year my oldest son (tmjjs 1) wasn't able to join me as he has in the past because of a baseball tournament, but I went with my friend Alan and had another great time. Here's a breakdown of the games played each day during Origins 2008.

Wednesday, June 25th We left around 10:30 AM after picking up Alan and drove straight to the convention center. I was able to get my badge with no problems from the minis hall while Alan got his at the pre-registration desk. We headed up to the BOARD GAME ROOM to get in a few games before heading to the hotel.

Goa - Alan and I grabbed this game and got Sean to play it with us. Turned out Sean plays this a lot and we all had a good time. I was able to squeak out a victory.

Age of Empires III - I got to pick the next game and choose my favorite right now. Joining us were Bob and Tom for a 5 player game. I was able to get another win.

Roll Through the Ages - Sean and Keith from Fred Distribution/Eagle Games came up to the room and asked Alan and I to playtest this game. It's a nice 4 player filler using dice to simulate a civ building game. I came in second and felt the game needs more interaction between players.

Thursday, June 26th Got to the convention early and headed up the board game room. I had the Settler's of Catan Master Tournament today. This was a free, invitation only tournament for previous qualifiers in Settler's of Catan World Qualifier tournament. The winner of this tournament would get an entry and trip to the World Championship which was being held at Gen Con, not Essen.

Ticket to Ride: The Card Game Meet up with Heath who I meet and played games with at the Fire & Ice Conventions. Heath taught me the game well since I was able to get a victory.