Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: After - Also rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Commorato
United States
Staten Island
NY
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm sure this thread is here as well (sorry).

AFTER I perform the 1st Action, then MUST I perform the 2nd?

I understand that you cannot perform the 2nd without performing the 1st.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
mb
i believe i read somewhere that the second option is always optional, while the first never is. although i have no idea where i read that, so it may or may not be credible. but i think it is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Van Horn
United States
Livonia
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The second action is optional.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Watson
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The second action is optional, the first is mandatory.
If you do chose the second option, you must do it after the first option.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
mb
hey, i found it in the rule book

Quote:
Some Action spaces offer players several choices of action or require a player to take one action before (optionally) taking a second action.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Inno Van
United States
San Francisco/East Bay
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anyone know why they didn't use "Must - May" instead?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Kahnt
United States
Youngstown
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
It's fun, it's healthy, it's good exercise. The kids will just love it. And we put a little sand inside to make the experience more pleasant.
badge
You know, they say there was a man who jumped from the forty-FIFTH floor? But that's another story...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Innovan wrote:
Anyone know why they didn't use "Must - May" instead?


Probably b/c of the original German words.... they probably mean more literal "after - also."

-DK
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Watson
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Innovan wrote:
Anyone know why they didn't use "Must - May" instead?


I wondered that at first, but I concluded that it was because "after/also" defines an order of play, whereas "must/may" does not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
It wasn't a rock
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yars wrote:
hey, i found it in the rule book

Oh for shame... Reading the rules just isn't fair!

HisDivineShadow wrote:
[...]I concluded that it was because "after/also" defines an order of play, whereas "must/may" does not.

Fine: "Must/then may"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Should have been "After/May"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
Should have been "After/May"

Comes June. (ba-dum, crash!) Thank you, I'll be here all week.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.