Popular Tags: [View All]
Toby Otero
United States
Monroe
Louisiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to this FANTASTIC hobby and I was wondering...

What do YOU look for in a GOOD GAME STORE?

I am asking this because I am not fortunate enough to have a game store in town.
I am curious about what I am missing and what do I need to EXPECT
when I come across a store that may or may not be... GOOD.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Edwards
United States
Everett
Washington
flag msg tools
YA R'LYAH
badge
Phnglui mglw nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah nagl fhtagn! With cheeze!
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, I expect it may be different for different folks.

For me, I look for:

Helpful employees who know games well.
A good level of stock, so they aren't always out of stuff.
Good prices. I don't need them to be super discount, but the farther away they are from on-line, the more painful it is for me to buy local. YMMV, of course - buying from your local store is supporting them and any value they add.
Gaming areas, and hopefully demos. Games to try out would be nice as well.
Clean / well-lit / not smelly or dirty.
Various things you'd like from most any store(available parking, good hours, and so on).

Bonuses for sponsoring tournaments, having booths at cons, and so on.

Depending on what you are into, a game store can be good or bad based on what they carry. Role playing stuff, Collectible card stuff, models, puzzles, kids games, euro games, and so on.

I'm spoiled as there are many game stores withing my reach, and most of them do most of it to my tastes.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Agent J
United States
Coldwater
Michigan
flag msg tools
He's looking real sharp in his 1940's fedora. He's got nerves of steel, an iron will, and several other metal-themed attributes. His fur is water tight and he's always up for a fight.
badge