Wow, so this is what you get for 100 pieces of gold.
I e-mailed the designer since there appeared to be enough ambiguity on the postings on the Trickster and tie question by Bob Peterson (and subsequent replies by Walt Mulder, Lorna Wong and Chris Roberts).
It appears we are playing the Trickster correctly. However, ties in a symbol still earn you the conditional points.
Thank you for youe e-mail.
> 1) Does the "Almighty" take the name of a card, or become the new card? We > have been playing that it only takes the name, but the summary and rules > suggest both interpretations. So if I have the Sword King and the > Almighty, I am assuming I CANNOT use the Almighty to change to the > Knight's Tale Chapter 4 to earn the 9 pt bonus (then lose -1 for being the > Almighty). I wanted to get your design intent.
"The trickster" can not change her point and icons. So "The trickster" can change her name to "Knight's Tale Chapter 4", but it have still -1 point.
> 2) For those cards that require you to be number one in a suit/symbol, I > am assuming that ties do not count, you must be a clear number one. Is > this correct?
Tie is enough. All players have same number of "Holy Empire" Cards, all of them are No. 1 players.