Evan Stegman
United States
Minneapolis
MN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For optional rule 11.3, the rules say "Do not use this rule with 11.6.".

Is that meant to mean:

If using both rules, Elite don't get their extra die if a Leader is giving bonus dice in the attack.

or

If you use rule 11.6, leave out rule 11.3 entirely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Bennett
United States
Newton
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Why did the painter paint the wall for free? Because it was on the house.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was about to post this question myself, as I have asked it both here (in a session report) and on a post on ConsimWorld, but I think it was overlooked both times. I would really like to know the intention of this statement.

In the meantime I have been playing it in the first way you listed, using both rules, but not allowing both combat bonuses to be used together in close combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Stegman
United States
Minneapolis
MN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought I saw it asked somewhere but couldn't find it.

And after posting, I realized it also brings up another question:

What about when using the French and Indian War optional rule? ("Indian and Ranger units roll 4 dice (instead of 3) in close combat against Regular and Elite Infantry, Artillery, and dragoons defending in Woods hexes.")

Should it be:

If using both rules, Indians and Rangers don't get their extra die if a Leader is giving bonus dice in the attack.

or

If using optional rule 11.6, leave out the French & Indian rule entirely.

or even (since it doesn't say not to use both):

Optional rule 11.6 and the French and Indian War rule can combine.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EvanMinn wrote:
For optional rule 11.3, the rules say "Do not use this rule with 11.6.".

Is that meant to mean...

...If you use rule 11.6, leave out rule 11.3 entirely.


This is how we've been playing it. We regard them as mutually exclusive.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis E. Hernández

Puerto de Sagunto, Valencia, SPAIN
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was about to ask the same questions too... An official confirmation would be appreciated...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yiannis Avramandis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EvanMinn wrote:
For optional rule 11.3, the rules say "Do not use this rule with 11.6.".


I like to use both rules.
I don't allow Elite units to roll more than 5 dice when stacked with a 2/2 or a 2/1 Leader.
But that it's my house rule.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.