Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The End of the Triumvirate» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battle Timing Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony M
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A Scenario:

Red attacks black. Both armies have 2 legions, and black's plank is present in the province.

2 red weapons are drawn from the bag.

Does red win at this point, or does black get to apply his plank's benefit and remove 2 red cubes, giving black the win ?

-T
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zippadeedoodah
Netherlands
Almere
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the rules, a battle does not end after weapons are drawn (step 1 of 5) or after weapons are resolved (step 2 of 5). You need to continue with the next step: during character protection (step 3 of 5), if there is a defending character piece present, 2 attacking legions are destroyed. Only then, if any legions are left, the main battle commences (step 4 of 5). Since in your example there would be no legions left after step 3, the main battle would be skipped, and the battle result (step 5 of 5) would be a failed attack.

By the bye, in your example red could never win, since black has a character present, and defending characters will always eliminate 2 enemy legions. An unwise attack, then.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.