Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hills / LOS / Hex Spines rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
I am glad that Johnny Jaws is my friend.
United States
Enumclaw
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
I know who I am. I'm the ant playin' the ant, disguised as another ant!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First Question: Is there a graphic help aid for understanding Hills / los anywhere?

2. On map 12 can a unit in hex I6 see a unit in G9?

3. which elevation is the hex spine in dividing hex H6 and I7?

Thanks fellow gamegeeks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have the map handy, but in general....

If you are on a hill:

(1) You can shoot at any unit at the same level as you (provided Line of Sight is not blocked by anything.)

(2) If you are shooting uphill, you can only see units on the edge of higher level hills.

(3) If you are shooting downhill, you can only shoot from the edge of a hill.

(4) If you are shooting downhill, you can't see the hex immediately behind a building or woods that is on the lower level.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I am glad that Johnny Jaws is my friend.
United States
Enumclaw
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
I know who I am. I'm the ant playin' the ant, disguised as another ant!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Mark! Still looking for the specific answers to my post, but your explanation really helps in general terms.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Collars
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Question #1: No, but there are the gray explantory boxes in the rules to further reinforce the main rule

Question #2: Yes, see rule T88.3.2

Question #3: Level 2, remember that the elevation of a hex is the same as the elevation of the hex dot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sagar Kumaraswamy
England
Leeds
flag msg tools
On the same map, can a unit in E6 shoot at some or all of the following hexes F5, G6 and H4?

Sagar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John McLintock
Scotland
Glasgow
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
badge
"Roll dice and kick ass!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
E6 has LOS to all 3 hexes, as per T88.3.2. The key point is that the LOS crosses the relevant hexside (ie. into the hex in question) before crossing a crestline (T88.3.1). So, for example, E6 would have no LOS to hexes E3 or H5 because the LOS crosses a crestline- in E4 and F5 respectively- before entering the hexes in question. I hope that last bit makes sense.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sagar Kumaraswamy
England
Leeds
flag msg tools
Thanks for this

This is the way we've been playing but good to confirm
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Malacandra wrote:
I don't have the map handy, but in general....

If you are on a hill:

(1) You can shoot at any unit at the same level as you (provided Line of Sight is not blocked by anything.)

(2) If you are shooting uphill, you can only see units on the edge of higher level hills.

(3) If you are shooting downhill, you can only shoot from the edge of a hill.

(4) If you are shooting downhill, you can't see the hex immediately behind a building or woods that is on the lower level.



Very important rule needs to added: If he can see you, you can see him.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I am glad that Johnny Jaws is my friend.
United States
Enumclaw
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
I know who I am. I'm the ant playin' the ant, disguised as another ant!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks to all of you who have replied to my OP. I understand hills now. Thanks. Game on!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.