Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Manoeuvre» Forums » Variants

Subject: NEW AMBUSH CARD VARIANT rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bestia immonda
Italy
Bologna
Bologna
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The original ambush card was quite weak, and I strongly support a stronger ambush.
Could someone explain me the ambush variant in the FAQ posted by Tarheel?
I don't get it! cry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Hurst
United States
Gastonia
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Its actually not a variant but instead an important rule change posted by the game designer. Basically, he is reverting to the original intent of the Ambush card, which somehow got diluted during production/testing.

The Ambush card now functions exactly like any other assault, except that you don't have an initiating unit. The initiating unit is now the card. Therefore, you may now support this attack just as you would any other assault. The only exception is that you may not use a Skirmish card with it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Horger
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Brad is quite correct.

Just think of it as the Americans and Austrians having extra Assault cards (Ambushes) that can be used anywhere on the board.

Playing these cards this way is really essential for the Americans to compete with the powerhouses. It also give the Austrians one extra little trick to use.

As an example;
Say the Americans had the 1st Regiment next to the French 4th Suisse but no assault card for the 1st. If an Ambush card was played, followed by a leader with a command of 2 or more, the Americans would count the Ambush card as the initiating unit and then bring in the 1st Regiment as a supporting unit to the Ambush. If the space was vacated, the 1st Regiment would be able to advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bestia immonda
Italy
Bologna
Bologna
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys, now it's much more clearer.
One more question: does the defender's terrain adds up to the defence value?
What if the result is ATTACKER GET A STEP LOSS?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Hurst
United States
Gastonia
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the attack is unsupported, the mysterious ambush crew will take the step loss, but since they exist only in card form, there is no effect. If supported, the supporting units will need to suffer the penalty as usual in assaults.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bestia immonda
Italy
Bologna
Bologna
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! What about terrain modifiers?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.