"GAME OVER, MAN. GAME OVER!"
Denmark
Aarhus
Unwashed and somewhat slightly dazed...
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the Mediterranean rules it says about coastline that: "...a unit cannot retreat on, or from, a coastline, except when on a Landing Craft."
But in the Airpack, where LC´s were first introduced, it clearly says that: "When they finish their move on a beach or shore hex, they are automatically removed..."

So if you do the math, a unit standing on a coastline hex WON´T have a Landing Craft, and will therefore NOT be able to use it to retreat! The Mediterranean rule doesn´t exactly contradict the Airpack one, but the annoying thing is that someone took the time to write up rules for a situation, that´s never going to take place...

Glad to have that off my chest...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
I would certainly HOPE that these could "unload" anything BEFORE departing!
"Lucky we didn't 'say' anything about the 'dirty knife'!"
robot

10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David F
United States
Emeryville
California
flag msg tools
Luck in games, in measured doses, is the catalyst which enables shocking game-changers that you'll remember and talk about forever.
badge
Let the Lord of Chaos rule.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One little insignificant, but still annoying, mistake...

jtspecial wrote:

So if you do the math, a unit standing on a coastline hex WON´T have a Landing Craft, and will therefore NOT be able to use it to retreat!


Why is this math? devil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Čepelík
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is a mistake, that has been made in Air Pack rules. It has been clarified in the DoW Memoir 44 forum by Richard Borg himself - the line with the word "shore" should be removed from rules. So the unit standing on the coastline hex CAN have Landing Craft.

For detail see http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=13956&start=0
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.