Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Remy Gibson
United States
flag msg tools
http://boardgametop10s.com/audio/bg10.xml
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
First off, I'm no expert. Let's just get that out of the way first.

I purchased the Puerto Rico PC game to see whether this was a game that anybody else but me would be interested in. I needed about four or five plays through to sort out the rules really well; then I taught it to my six-year-old son, Noah, who ended up enjoying the game a lot more that San Juan. Of course, the PC version is very quick, so that helps with a younger person's attention span. Finally, he started pestering me to get the original board game version, so I ended up trading Robo Rally for it. (Thanks to user badweasel!)

The five people playing the game were myself, my mom (who teamed up with my son), my good friend L, his girlfriend E, and her mom J. My mom has been patient with the Euro games I've showed her in the past, taking well to most of them (including things like Ingenious, Qwirkle, and Coloretto). But I haven't tried anything this heavy with her.

The other three I've really only played mostly party games with; the heaviest game my friend L has played with me is Ticket to Ride. So my wife advised me that this might not be the best group to try out a 2½ game with. But they were all willing to give it a try, anyway.

Naturally, the first few rounds were pretty rough going as everybody became acclimated to the roles and exactly what they needed to be doing. People got caught out by selecting Craftsman, then having to dump the remainder when the Captain came along, for example. One big difference I noticed between the game we played and the PC opponents was that there were tons of colonists showing up, especially early in the game. Quite a few went for the large Indigo Plant/Sugar Mill; we ended up with 10 colonists on the ship by round 4 or 5, though it was typically the minimum.