Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Nuclear Subs question - coups in DEFCON restricted regions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Mowat
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If it's DEFCON 2 and I play Nuclear Subs as the US, can I attempt to do coups in battleground countries within regions that normally are un-coupable due to the DEFCON level? For example, it's DEFCON 2; can I play Nuclear Subs and then, on my next round, attempt a coup in USSR-controlled Poland?

My interpretation is that if it's DEFCON 2 and Nuclear Subs is in play, I can do coups in battleground countries within Central America, South America, and Africa, as these regions have no DEFCON restrictions associated with them. But I can't do coups in Europe, Asia, or the Middle East, as coups are prohibited in these regions at DEFCON 2.

Thanks in advance for any clarification!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Poole
United States
Goldsboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Udu Wudu
badge
Udu Wudu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with your interpration. If you could coup in Europe, Asia and Middle East with a Defcon level of 2, the card would state "make a free coup attempt...." Nuclear subs simply allows you to forgo lowering the defcon level.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nicola caroli
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmb
Your interpretation is 100% correct. Another case where simplicity in card text writing creates hooks for rule-lawyers shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Hewson
United Kingdom
Surbiton
Surrey
flag msg tools
I bought this...
badge
...as I had no idea what to spend my GG on!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As an aside, Nuclear Subs is a great opportunity for the USSR to safely get rid of CIA at DEFCON 2 without having the USA coup a battleground and win.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Brown
United States
Macon
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're right. The coups don't affect DEFCON, but DEFCON still affects coups.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pokke
Belgium
Werchter
optional
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Nuclear subs: is the play of an eventcard considered to be an "action"?

In other words, can the USA play "Duck and Cover" when the Defcon status is currently at 2 and "Nuclear Subs" is already in play?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Above interpretation is correct, Defcon restrictions in Europe/Asia/Mid East still apply.

Events are not actions. The USA could play Duck and Cover at Defcon 2, but it would be an instant loss whether or not Nuclear Subs was in effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pokke
Belgium
Werchter
optional
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks, that's what I thought but wanted to hear someone say it.

Just a question though: how do you know that playing an event-card is not an action? What rule did I miss?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.