Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Galactic Emperor» Forums » Rules

Subject: Black Hole warp question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ron Thomas
United States
Rocky River
ohio
flag msg tools
mb
We ran into an issue in our last game that did not seem to be covered by the rules, so I thought I'd get some feedback on it here.

A player was on the black hole with a large fleet ready to warp (he had ended the last warlord turn on that sector) could he split up his fleet into different directions and still perform the warp?

Our take on it was that he could not, all ships in the fleet must either warp all together to a single sector or split up and not warp, he could not do both.

Thanks in advance for any clarification.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Kudzma
United States
Millsboro
Delaware
flag msg tools
designer
People are...
badge
SPOCKED!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each movement is handled PER UNIT.

Therefore you can move some units, execute combat where necessary, and so on.

Just remember that after units warp they have to where to retreat to and therefore cannot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Schönaich
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As per the rules, all warping ships must go to the same sector. As movement is handled per unit, you can probably attack in multiple waves, but you can't attack different sectors with a warp during the same warlord action. Of course, you could move some of the units off the black hole normally.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Thomas
United States
Rocky River
ohio
flag msg tools
mb
Seems pretty overpowered to me, but it definitely makes the battle for the black hole an important one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Luksich
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well they can only hit one sector with a sneak attack so it isn't overpowered in my opinion. That and they have to get to the black hole and wait until they next turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dan schnake
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
That's too much dough unless it's murder. And if it's murder, it's not enough.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All units that do a warp move off the Black Hole must go to the same destination. It is perfectly okay to leave some units behind, or even move some units off the Black Hole via normal movement and warp move with other units.

As others say, you could possibly move some units to attack a sector, resolve that battle, and if you've lost, move some other units in for another attack. Of course, not everything that is possible is wise. You would have been far better off to move a sufficient force in the target sector in the first place (but you may have been hoping to do something else with the reserve force).

This unusual case could apply to the Black Hole. Suppose you had 2 Cruisers and 2 Fighters on the BH. You got two battles you'd like to prosecute, a big one near the BH and a takeover of a lone Empire elsewhere. You decide that you can take the Empire out with just the fighters if you warp attack there, so then you'll use normal movement to add the Cruisers to the big fight.

But you roll dice like I do. The 2 Fighters aim like stormtroopers and the Empire snuffs them out. Now you have an interesting choice... if you still feel confident about the big fight without the Cruisers, you could send the Cruisers warping into the same sector the Fighters failed at -- a second bite at the apple. Or you could go ahead with your normal movement to the big fight. Whatever.

The BH is indeed powerful, but the cost to using it is opportunity cost... you are spending a turn to go over there and sit. Usually, with your best fleets, you don't want to give up a chance to conquer something. Or you're in the midst of border fracases. But yes, the BH is powerful if you can afford to put some ships there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.