Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Löwenherz» Forums » Rules

Subject: Negotiation fake biddings rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ingo Keiner
Germany
Oberhausen
NRW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Last night, we had the first session since months...
There came up some questions:
Imagine:
When 2 players are negotiating. One player (A) is rich, the other player (B) not.
(Player B has only 8 bucks to spend)

A: I give you 5, when i can make this action.
B: I give you five too, or even i give you 6.
A: Well, well, actually i give you 8
B: Nah, i give 9
A: Uhm,... i give you 10!
B: Well, OK. Do it and give 10 to me!


Questions: Was he allowed to make fake biddings?
We said, ok, it´s allowed.
BUT, what happens, if one get caught outbidding himself?
Ok, at first, he has to reveal his money supply.
Is that it?
Will he be punished for making false bids? (maybe hand out some money to the bank)
Will there be another negotiation immediately?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Lee
United States
Milford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We don't allow a player to offer more ducats than they actually have.

So in your example Player B could not offer 9 ducats since he only has 8. However, he could ask Player A to give him 10 ducats for the action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Brown
United States
Manchester
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Realizing that this thread is long since dead, I find the question to be very interesting. Our negotiations never go like that, but I could see it happening in different groups. I don't believe there's anything in the rules to address it.

My first reaction was to forbid bluff bidding, but upon reflection, that seems against the spirit of the game. This game is all about posturing, never more so than during the negotiations.

I think that the easiest way is to simply carry on:

A: I accept your offer of 9 then!
B: I changed my mind, it's only worth 8 to me.
A: Let's duel you reneging knave!
B: Bring it!

No muss, no fuss. So I'd allow bluffs, but the offer itself is only binding when cards exchange hands. Therefore, player B makes an offer, player A accepts, then B must affirm the deal by handing over the money.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ingo Keiner
Germany
Oberhausen
NRW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
discoking7 wrote:
...So I'd allow bluffs, but the offer itself is only binding when cards exchange hands. Therefore, player B makes an offer, player A accepts, then B must affirm the deal by handing over the money...


That seems to be a good point.

So, when you are caught bluffing, you are punished indirectly by your oppenent knowing your amount of money before the duel.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.