Subject: Obama ideas I can get behind! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
Obama in speech today:
Quote:
Obama has promised that a call to service would be a cornerstone of his presidency, and also has criticized Bush for asking Americans eager to pitch in after the attacks merely "to shop."

The expansion of government national service programs he has proposed would cost $3.5 billion a year, including a new "Green Vet Initiative," increasing the all-volunteer military, expanding AmeriCorps, doubling the size of the Peace Corps, expanding service programs involving retired people, and creating a tax credit making the first $4,000 of college tuition free for students who conduct 100 hours of public service a year.

Ok I can really get behind the two items in bold. Especially the tax credit for tuition, though I think it needs to be for 200 hours of service ($40/hr seems a little high on the pay side) and the tax credit would need to carry over a few years so it can be used even by people taking loans (not making a lot of taxable cash while in school) and/or be transferable to parents if they are helping to foot the tuition bill.

I wonder if he would really get this done. The AmeriCorps has never really done what Clinton envisioned. Not even when he was in office.

I would want to know more about the "Green Vet Initiative" before I could comment on this.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
King of All Simians — Not a Mere Diplomat
United States
Wilmington
Select State
flag msg tools
designer
I love you.
badge
I love you.
mb
Koldfoot wrote:
Why stop there? The gov't could just cap the amount schools are allowed to charge for an education. Hell, give students minimum wage for attending school.