Wade Broadhead
United States
Pueblo
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I’ve been gaming for a couple years now and always thrown the term ‘German family games’ term around lightly. Despite having a wonderful wife who often plays with me and my friends during impromptu game nights; I’ve never really involved my entire family. My 51/2 year old son is pretty hyperactive and does not generally perform well during board games. He has played a few children’s games with me from time to time but only for the shortest duration and never seems eager to play again. Watching me design games he’s actually made up some role and move Egyptian games but tends to lose interests rapidly. After a game of Carcassonne with my son this Saturday I now fully understand the term “family game”.

My son is now attending a great public magnet IB kindergarten and I’ve noticed a huge difference in his attitude, but it was with low expectations that my wife and I allowed him to join us in a game of Carcassonne Saturday afternoon. He’s played around with the pieces before but never seems interested in actually playing. Oh, did I mention that we purchased the cardboard “brick-blocks” (best toy value ever!) for him and he’s quite adept at building elaborate train, pyramid, and roman systems, so I should not have been surprised.

This was the first game of Carcassone where my son sat still, played by all the rules, worked as a team member and even kept score. It was a really amazing moment to have my hyper little boy sitting still (mostly) and making complex moves. On a number of occasions we began to argue against a move only to see it’s value a second later. As he kept score he learned to count and the relative values between players positions. I was realizing what amazing teaching tool this game was.