Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Hammer of the Scots» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking across the Anglo-Scottish border (v2.3) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jamie Pollock
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The 2.3 rules state:

Quote:
Each point of movement allows only one (1) block (not group) to cross the Anglo-Scottish border. Thus, a 3-card allows 3 blocks to cross the border. Blocks attacking across the Anglo-Scottish border into the same area fight as one group. The combat reserves rule 5.32 does not apply.


So, when using 3 action points to move 3 blocks across the Anglo-Scottish border, the stack of 3 will still attack as one group rather than 1 with 2 reserves.

Now, the question - does this just apply to the few regions that are adjacent to the Anglo-Scottish border?

Or does this rule permeate to all regions that can conceivably be reached by the crossing group of blocks, e.g. moving to Lothian through Dunbar?

Cheers

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko Ruf
Germany
Schönaich
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A group attacking together is a group no matter how far it moves. So it does apply to other territories, as long as all blocks started in England.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Reynolds
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jambo wrote:
Now, the question - does this just apply to the few regions that are adjacent to the Anglo-Scottish border?

Or does this rule permeate to all regions that can conceivably be reached by the crossing group of blocks, e.g. moving to Lothian through Dunbar?


This is a non-issue, since you must STOP moving once you cross the border. In the further turns, the rules go back to normal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Pollock
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
presence wrote:
This is a non-issue, since you must STOP moving once you cross the border. In the further turns, the rules go back to normal.


That's not correct. The rules also state:

Quote:
The Anglo-Scottish Border is a heavy red or black broken line. Blocks entering England must stop. Blocks entering Scotland must stop only if they cross the red broken border into Teviot.


So, they only have to stop if they cross the red part of the border.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Really? I thought you only had to stop moving if you crossed the Red line (into Teviot)- black lines mean you can keep going right? If that isn't true, why don't use red lines for the whole of the border...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Reynolds
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I stand corrected, unless units are entering england or into scotland over the red dashed border.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.