Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Victoria Cross» Forums » Rules

Subject: Water Cart Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gordon Stewart
United States
Bowie
20715
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This may be obvious, but there are no dumb questions, right?

The rules state that:
"11.4.4. Water Cart (zone J) - The Zulu player receives 5VP for occupying the water cart zone at the end of a turn before dark. Once it is dark the watercart zone is worth a decreasing number of VP as shown on the bottom of each turn on the turn record chart."

If the Zulus capture the water cart before dark it is worth 5;
but 1. Does this 5 points belong to the Zulus for the rest of the game?
2. Does it decrease during later night turns if captured in the day?
3. Does the 5 points disappear if they leave that space?
(can Brits recapture and reuse the cart or is it destroyed?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Petterson
United States
Gulfport
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the Zulu players receives the Points when capturing the Watercart zone K. The Watercart is then destroyed and the Brit Player has no recorse.
I don't have the rule book in front of me, but this is what I remember.
The point scoring for the Kraal area's A & B are different as the Brit Player may recapture them and deny the Zulu Player these points.
Karl
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Stewart
United States
Bowie
20715
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, that makes sense. It would be easy to destroy a water cart in real life.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Oliveira
Brazil
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, but I still don't get the way to score VPs...
If the Zulus capture the water cart zone it's worth 5 points in daylight, 4 points at night, 5 points again the next morning, going down to 3 points at night, 5 points again in daylight, and so on...
Is that how it works?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Beckner
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The way I read it, the Zulu player is awarded the VPs on the turn he captures the area. So if he captures it on any daylight turn, it's worth 5; the night turn value would be whatever the value listed on whatever turn he captures it. It's a one-time thing; the Zulus capture and destroy the water cart.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Oliveira
Brazil
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmmm, it makes sense.
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Stewart
United States
Bowie
20715
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aro246 wrote:
....it's worth 5 points in daylight, 4 points at night, 5 points again the next morning, going down to 3 points at night, 5 points again in daylight, and so on...
Is that how it works?

For those that haven't seen the movie Zulu, this seems to be a
common misunderstanding; the battle is not 8 days long.
There are 8 day turns followed by 8 night turns.
Thought the cart went from 5 VPs to 4 only....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Stewart
United States
Bowie
20715
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Being only noted on the turn track chart (not in the rules),
it seemed like a good place to post the changes to the value
of the water cart's value depending on the turn that the
Zulus capture it:
Daytime turns 1-8 (5 pts), turns 9-11 (4 pts), 12-14 (3 pts),
turn 15 (2 pts), 16 (1 pt).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Stewart
United States
Bowie
20715
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another water cart issue we missed in our game yesterday.
As soon as the Zulus entered zone "J" we thought they
destroyed the water cart; even though they were all cut
to ribbons before turn's end. Later found this rule:

"Once the Zulu player has ended a turn in possession of the water cart, the British cannot retake it (it is destroyed)."

Now assume possession requires survival until turn's end....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.