Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Deukalion» Forums » Rules

Subject: more questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
david karasick
United States
Gladwyne
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
[1]After you throw the kylix dice do you have either a choice of using the four actions of the dice or challenging or do both? Its unclear whether you can challenge on the same turn you reach a city, settlement , hydra or other ship OR do you have to wait another turn to challenge. [2]Also, if you go to Styx and you alone have men, do you get the majority reward or do there have to be other player's men in the underworld for the majority rule to work?. Our 2player game seems to favor play for treasures but not settlements as you can recover men from the underworld by cards or going to Styx but you cannot retrieve the men at the settlement unless someone attacks there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skeletodoc wrote:
[1]After you throw the kylix dice do you have either a choice of using the four actions of the dice or challenging or do both? Its unclear whether you can challenge on the same turn you reach a city, settlement , hydra or other ship OR do you have to wait another turn to challenge.

The German rules state that one of the four actions is 'Sailing, and that this action includes "founding a Settlement or attacking a city or a fellow player, as apropriate".

Quote:
[2]Also, if you go to Styx and you alone have men, do you get the majority reward or do there have to be other player's men in the underworld for the majority rule to work?. Our 2player game seems to favor play for treasures but not settlements as you can recover men from the underworld by cards or going to Styx but you cannot retrieve the men at the settlement unless someone attacks there.


Why would you want to retreive your men from the Settlements? That would mean that you have wasted valuable actions. Hardly a step towards winning.

Even in multiplayer games is treasures favorable to settling. That's why no-one wants to move away from the lucrative cities near Athens.

The rule about Styx is that whoever has the sole majority of dead men scores two points. It also clarifies that no-one has the a shared majority doesn't qualify. Nothing is said about not receiving the award if you are the only one there.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
david karasick
United States
Gladwyne
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Why would you want to retreive your men from the Settlements? That would mean that you have wasted valuable actions. Hardly a step towards winning."....................The more men you place in settlements leads to less men for "hopite rolls" later. It seems like a bad tradeoff. In a 2 player game there are plenty of scoring pursuit cards that can be won for points by going the treasure route alone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skeletodoc wrote:
The more men you place in settlements leads to less men for "hopite rolls" later. It seems like a bad tradeoff.


True. But Settlements does NOTHING for you - until the game is over.
So why bother placing men there in the first place, if you don't intend to keep them?

The earlier you settle, you greater the risk of someone else taking those points away from you before the game ends - and the weaker you are in combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
david karasick
United States
Gladwyne
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you challenge for more than one treasure at a city on your turn? If your ship is at a site and the dice roll gives you a move of 1-2-3, can you opt to stay put? Does "adjacent" mean your ship can be next to any sea space bordering a city or settlement or does it have to be next to the site's title for the city or settlement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skeletodoc wrote:
Can you challenge for more than one treasure at a city on your turn?

Nope. You can only take one treasure after a succesful attack.
Quote:
If your ship is at a site and the dice roll gives you a move of 1-2-3, can you opt to stay put?

Sure. You never have to move. You can stay or move part of your allotted movement, as you please.
Quote:
Does "adjacent" mean your ship can be next to any sea space bordering a city or settlement or does it have to be next to the site's title for the city or settlement?

See the overview of the map on page 2-3 in the rules: the 3 blue squares surrounding Rhodos are the 3 legal spaces for visiting that city.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.