I just played my first game of Metro tonight with my sister, who was also completely new to the game. We had a major difference of opinion as to whether or not you could place a tile if it didn't continue anyone's departure track, even if it WAS touching a previously placed tile. What are everyone's verdicts on this situation?I think what you did was legit. Just make sure the tile is oriented correctly and touches (orthagonally) a previously laid tile are the 2 big rules with tile laying.
Also, the English rules sheet (but NOT the Spanish, French, or German rules sheets also included in the box, Queen games edition WITHOUT the Uberplay logo) state that the central stations may not be played against unless the tile completes or continues existing track. This might be interpreted to mean that it must complete or continue a track coming from someone's departure station. OR, it might be kind of a redundant sentence (NOTE that it was left OUT of the other three language rules sheets in the SAME box!!!) that the English translator tacked on, merely in order to emphasize that a tile could not be placed next to a central station unless it ALSO bordered another previously placed tile. I would like to get as many verdicts as possible on this central station question as well. Hmmm, I don't remember any mention about this. I'll have to sit on this one and get back to you if I can recall anything about this.
Thanks very much in advance!!