Popular Tags: chicken_little [+] [View All]
Jeff Brown
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Well from my last check the market fell at least another 500 points today. How low will it go.

In a side note I hope that I can get my race for the galaxy expansion before the economy completely collapses on itself.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Ellis
United States
Brookline
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I was a securities analyst for five years, working in London and the US and covering a pretty wide range of equity markets. One thing I took away from that is that while markets aren't necessarily efficient there are very few people (if any) that can consistently guess their directions.

Thus anything I say on the subject has at best a 51% chance of being right. That said, onto the bold pronouncements!

This is an event that caught the market largely by surprise. Last I checked, analysts were still forecasting significant corporate earnings growth for 2009 which seems extraordinarily unlikely. A recent survey showed that a majority of Americans actually consider a depression to be likely, and while I think that's probably a short-term panic reaction, that's not the sort of thing that leads to consumer spending. We're likely to be in for a long and painful recession -- worse than many people alive today have seen.

All that said, recessions aren't always that bad for equity markets. They tend to keep interest rates low and dampen inflation. Since equity values are highly affected by the discount rate used to value their cash-flows (and the discount rate in turn is affected by interest rates and inflation expectations), those are both good.

So yeah, I have no clue what the market is going to do. Must be why I put all my money in Index Funds and then ignore the market.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Brown
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb