Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Le Havre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ownership of built buildings. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I don't see anything in the rules to clarify who owns the buildings I build. Do I own them right away or are they put with the town buildings for later purchase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torsten Denke
Germany
flag msg tools
you own them
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Earles
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you buy or build a building it is placed in front of you. You "own" them (although all players can use them).

Edit: From Page 9:

Rule clarifications
* Difference between construction and buying
All buildings and ships may be either built (constructed) or bought as a
player chooses; they are usually built. This difference is very important:

Building is always a Main action, and requires building
resources. It is taken in a Construction building such as the
Construction Firm or one of the Building Firms.

Buying is always an Additional action and requires money.

In both cases, the player who builds or buys the building takes
the card and places it in front of her.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Buettemeier
Germany
Bremen
flag msg tools
Esst mehr Käsetoast!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you build or buy a building or ship, you put the card before you. This means, you own it now. If you see a building, you put to the other city buildings in the middle.

€dit: Whoops, too late.. shake
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks. You're right. The rules as written are clear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Robben
United States
Spring Hill
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, just to clarify for my slooow brain...

The difference in buying or building is simply the resources I spent to own it?
If I am rich on francs, buy...if I'm a tad poor, but have a lot of resources, build.
That and the fact that they exhaust different actions of your turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eugene van der Pijll
Netherlands
Leidschendam
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kalidor wrote:
The difference in buying or building is simply the resources I spent to own it?
If I am rich on francs, buy...if I'm a tad poor, but have a lot of resources, build.
That and the fact that they exhaust different actions of your turn?

Yes. Except that buying doesn't "exhaust" actions: the number of buildings you can build in one turn is unlimited.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Parrott
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pijll wrote:
Yes. Except that buying doesn't "exhaust" actions: the number of buildings you can build in one turn is unlimited.


Slight correction: The number of buildings you can buy and/or sell in one turn is unlimited and doesn't use your action. You can build a maximum of 2 buildings through the construction firm and it does use your action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
dkeisen wrote:
Thanks. You're right. The rules as written are clear.


Late to the party, I know, but I wouldn't call them "clear" when it's taken me this long to discover it.

As a note, part of the problem is that the "in both cases" sentence is indented with the "buying" rather than as part of the general "difference", which does kind of obscure it, and I wish something had been said about the placement of the card in the main action area instead of all the way down in "clarifications."

But good to know!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Kerstholt
Netherlands
Sebaldeburen
Groningen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jsciv wrote:
Late to the party, I know, but I wouldn't call them "clear" when it's taken me this long to discover it.

I totally agree.

Two times we started playing the game, ran into the buy/build question, stopped halfway and consulted BGG. Only during our third play we had the feeling of having some grip on it.
But I am still reading these posts and learning and going to search the (now 76) pages of threads for commented rules (like Carcassonne).
but gradually , because what we experienced we liked very much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.