Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Carcassonne» Forums » Rules

Subject: question about a rule rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mint car
United States
New York
flag msg tools
on a player's turn, they can do one of the following:

1)place a tile and deploy a follower
2)place a tile to an existing road or city
3)or place a tile that completes a city, score the points and take back the meeple and that is the end of the turn

now, for #3, does the player, deploy another meeple in the same turn? i was reading the rules on page 3 and it says:

it is possible for a player to deploy a followers, score a road, city or cloister, and have the follower returned on the same turn.
1)complete a road, cloister or city with the new tile
2)deploy a knight, thief or monk
3)score the completed city, road or cloister
4)return the knightm thief or monk

can someone please clarify? thank you so much!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Keech
United States
Brentwood
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. A player can only deploy a meeple onto the tile he placed that turn.

Given your example, the turn breaks down like this;

1)complete a road, cloister or city with the new tile Tile placed
2)deploy a knight, thief or monk Meeple placed onto the tile just played
3)score the completed city, road or cloister Scoring is done
4)return the knightm thief or monk Meeple returned to player

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This "You can do one of the following" is misleading. Your turn consists of these, in order:

1) *MANDATORY*: Draw a tile, place it anywhere where it matches the adjacent tiles (and it must be adjacent to at least one other tile). You may put your new tile anywhere that the tile edges match; completing features, meeples on the board, etc., does not matter here.

2) *OPTIONAL*: Place a meeple on an un-meepled feature on your newly placed tile. You may meeple any feature, whether completed or not, as long as it is on your newly placed tile, and there are no meeples already on the feature.

3) *MANDATORY* when it applies: Score any completed road, city, or cloister that is on the board. Players with meeples on the scored features now take those meeples back.

That makes it much more straightforward. Note that you place, then score, so if your tile completes an unoccupied feature, you can place and score right away as long as you have a free meeple!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mint car
United States
New York
flag msg tools
ok, thanks!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.