Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Clash of Monarchs» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rulebook questions/inconsistencies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I've done a trawl of the Rulebook to look for anomalies and inconsistencies. This is intended to be a helpful activity, not a critical one.

4.2 Exception: Stacking limits apply whenever a Force takes refuge in a fortress, not just if it is besieged as well.

9.2.2 bullet 2: First sentence should say 'CAN serve as FD Supply Sources' (since you have to flip them as subsequently described).

9.3 Can you trace supply through a friendly MASKED fortress (if the number of SPs in the fortress is equal or greater to the enemy SPs outside)?

9.4.1 It is necessary for the sole Supply Path of a Force to be cut by enemy movement in order to lower its Supply State, not just any of the possible Paths.

9.4.1 Presumably if the sole Supply Path is blocked/unblocked several times during the enemy turn as his Forces move about, the Supply State is only worsened once.

9.7.2 Can you capture and distribute a Fleet FD?

12.4 What happens if an enemy Force moves into a space occupied by a lone Leader? What happens if all the SPs of a Leader's Command are eliminated?

12.7 If a masking force entrenches and then places a Siege 0, does it lose the Entrench marker?

12.10 If an inactive Force which is not in a Fortress declines to Intercept or Withdraw (and cannot be overrun), can an active Force move into same space as the inactive Force and then continue movement?

12.11 What happens if a Fleet is in a Port and an enemy Force moves into the space?

12.11 If a Port is also a Fortress, can the Fleet enter it even if the Fortress is besieged?

15.7.1 If one side is totally eliminated, shouldn't they lose the battle regardless of D levels? Can the other side still be Routed and lose FDs and Siege Artillery.

15.8.1 Crushing Victory: Who gains/loses MW if the force is mixed?

15.10 Presumably the reference to the French Fleet here and on the Combat Table is irrelevant, since there is no overt French Fleet.

15.10 Do the French lose a VP if a client Danish Fleet is defeated?

15.10 How does Fleet Combat work when the Danish Fleet AND its Patron's Fleet are both in the Baltic and the opposing Fleet also enters the Baltic?

17.4 Needs enhancement to cover case where active command places Siege marker when first activated and does not need to expend an SA.

18.5.2 Presumably a Supply Raid can (in theory at least) destroy a Fleet FD.

19.1.2 If the Danish Fleet transfers to the Force Pool because of Winter, how does it get back into the Baltic?

20.1 If not all imprisoned Leaders can be exchanged, who picks the ones who are exchanged?

21.3.2 Please explain 'Transfer all other forces and FDs out of THEIR spaces'. Who is 'they'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Janiec
United States
(Teller County)
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Where were you when we were developing the rules, Mr. Dickens?!? Seriously, we appreciate the feedback, and you've raised some issues that will feature in the next rules update.

Quote:
4.2 Exception: Stacking limits apply whenever a Force takes refuge in a fortress, not just if it is besieged as well.

Correct; delete the words "under siege."

Quote:
9.2.2 bullet 2: First sentence should say 'CAN serve as FD Supply Sources' (since you have to flip them as subsequently described).

There is no reason for a Fleet unit to enter a port space except to flip and serve as an FD. Per 12.11, you don't actually enter the space to support a siege.

Quote:
9.3 Can you trace supply through a friendly MASKED fortress (if the number of SPs in the fortress is equal or greater to the enemy SPs outside)?

In the rules as written, yes per the third bullet. I'm recommending to Bob that we change this, however.

Quote:
9.4.1 It is necessary for the sole Supply Path of a Force to be cut by enemy movement in order to lower its Supply State, not just any of the possible Paths.

Or to put it another way, all of a force's Supply Paths must be cut to worsen its Supply State.

Quote:
9.4.1 Presumably if the sole Supply Path is blocked/unblocked several times during the enemy turn as his Forces move about, the Supply State is only worsened once.

Correct.

Quote:
9.7.2 Can you capture and distribute a Fleet FD?

Yes. It must be immediately distributed like any other FD, and is flipped and the Fleet unit moves back out to sea.

Quote:
12.4 What happens if an enemy Force moves into a space occupied by a lone Leader?

The leader is Overrun and captured per 12.9 if he fails to Withdraw.

Quote:
What happens if all the SPs of a Leader's Command are eliminated?

If his Command was defeated, he retreats per 15.9; if he was victorious, the enemy must retreat.

Quote:
12.7 If a masking force entrenches and then places a Siege 0, does it lose the Entrench marker?

No, but per 17.5.3 the Entrenchments are useless.

Quote:
12.10 If an inactive Force which is not in a Fortress declines to Intercept or Withdraw (and cannot be overrun), can an active Force move into same space as the inactive Force and then continue movement?

Sure -- nothing in the rules suggests otherwise.

Quote:
12.11 What happens if a Fleet is in a Port and an enemy Force moves into the space?

Presuming you mean a Fleet FD, it is treated just like any other FD under the same circumstances.

Quote:
12.11 If a Port is also a Fortress, can the Fleet enter it even if the Fortress is besieged?

Yes, if you want to establish a Fleet FD there. But since that will have no impact on the besieged garrison, there wouldn't seem to be much point.

Quote:
15.7.1 If one side is totally eliminated, shouldn't they lose the battle regardless of D levels?

No.

Quote:
Can the other side still be Routed and lose FDs and Siege Artillery.

Yes.

Quote:
15.8.1 Crushing Victory: Who gains/loses MW if the force is mixed?

Nationality of a multi-nation force is determined per 4.1.1. Any MW change accrues to that Power (or its Patron if it is a Client).

Quote:
15.10 Presumably the reference to the French Fleet here and on the Combat Table is irrelevant, since there is no overt French Fleet.

British events (Royal Navy, Quiberon Bay) can precipitate a battle with a notional French Fleet, in which case the stated modifiers apply.

Quote:
15.10 Do the French lose a VP if a client Danish Fleet is defeated?

Yes, and they gain 1 VP if the Danes win.

Quote:
15.10 How does Fleet Combat work when the Danish Fleet AND its Patron's Fleet are both in the Baltic and the opposing Fleet also enters the Baltic?

The British player chooses which Fleet fights first. If the Fleet opposed to the Danes wins the Fleet Battle, it then fights the remaining enemy Fleet.

Quote:
17.4 Needs enhancement to cover case where active command places Siege marker when first activated and does not need to expend an SA.

5.1.2b(2b) does not mention a requirement to expend an SA, and 10.3 only references 5.1.2b(2c).

Quote:
18.5.2 Presumably a Supply Raid can (in theory at least) destroy a Fleet FD.

And in practice, in which case the Fleet unit flips and immediately goes back out to sea.

Quote:
19.1.2 If the Danish Fleet transfers to the Force Pool because of Winter, how does it get back into the Baltic?

It doesn't.

Quote:
20.1 If not all imprisoned Leaders can be exchanged, who picks the ones who are exchanged?

The player holding the Prisoners decides which leaders to exchange (usually the weakest ones).

Quote:
21.3.2 Please explain 'Transfer all other forces and FDs out of THEIR spaces'. Who is 'they'.

The same as in the preceding sentence -- the Power whose MW is 0 and its Clients.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm happy that my questions have helped you with the next version of the rulebook. I do need to expand on my point about Section 17.4, however. The point that I am trying to make is not that Section 17.4 is incorrect but that it is incomplete. To give a 'full' description of how Formal Sieges work, it needs to include the method of setting a Siege during a Strategy Card Segement which is covered by 5.1(2) b). To amplify the point, 5.1(2) b)has a cross-ref to 17.4 but 17.4 doesn't cover setting Siege without expending an SA.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Janiec
United States
(Teller County)
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Quote:
17.4 doesn't cover setting Siege without expending an SA.


Sure it does. The reference in 17.4 for expending an SA is [10.3], which itself references this expenditure in [5.1.2b(2c)] -- after all activations are completed. Nowhere do the rules state you have to expend an SA in 5.1.2b(2b) -- Step i of an activation where you can set siege.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Janiec
United States
(Teller County)
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Re: Rulebook questions/inconsistencies [SETTING SIEGE]
The discussion on whether or not a Command setting siege at the beginning of its activation led me to go back and review the exchange between Bob and I when we instituted the "Prosecute Siege" Supply Action in early 2006. It turns out the intention was never to make this a "freebie," but the evolution of the Sequence of Play inadvertently led to this appearance. We will correct the SoP and 10.3 to clarify that it DOES cost 1 SA to place a Siege 0 marker in Step i of an activation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.