1. Each player submits a single, final "sealed" bid and the bids are "opened" simultaneously.
COMMENT: This addresses the criticism of the Command Phase expressed in a number of ConSimWorld posts. The player with the advantage can no longer match his opponent bid for bid and push his opponent farther and farther down the Command Track, knowing that any ties will be resolved in his favour.
2. Players may bid to commit ANY command chit which was not activated in the preceding turn, or may pass. A player who lost the last round of bidding is not restricted to passing or committing the chit he committed on the previous round.
COMMENT: The player who won the preceding round of bidding will no longer have the advantage of knowing that his opponent must bid a particular command chit, thus introducing further uncertainty.
3. A player may bid to commit a command chit in the space it currently occupies if it has not yet been activated in that space (i.e., it was not the subject of a successful bid in that space). If it has been activated previously in that space, the bid must specify a space further down the Command Track.
COMMENT: This follows the published rules.
4. The player who wins the bid moves both designated command chits down the Command Track to the spaces specified in the respective bids. The winning chit is "activated" and the losing chit is not. Place a Committed Marker on the winning chit.
COMMENT: Note that it is now possible for the winner of the bidding to bid "too much"and find his chit 2 or 3 spaces farther down the Command Track than the chit bid by his opponent.
The Committed Marker means "this unit has been activated in this space and must move at least 1 space farther if it is bid again." Therefore, the marker should remain in place until the chit moves farther down the Command Track or the Command Cycle ends.
5. If both bids specified the same space, the side that was active in the preceding turn wins the bid.
COMMENT: This is intended to reflect the momentum possessed by the side which was active in the preceding turn.
5.1 EXCEPTION: If this is the first turn of a Command Cycle, the side with the advantage wins the bid.
COMMENT: This preserves some degree of benefit to winning the "Advantage" by spending more on FPs.