Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Vietnam 1965-1975» Forums » Rules

Subject: assign support, political sections rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Juan Pardo
Spain
Madrid
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, I would like to know how assigning support exactly works. When declaring a search and destroy mission its pretty clear that the active player has to assign the support points before moving his units.

But when for example the US player its attacked by VC units, ?can he assign air or naval support points? and if the answer its yes ?has the VC player reveal his counter before or after the assignation of support by the US player?

?Can political sections be given search and destroy missions? in order to lure support points from the US player (in case he can assign it before revealing the political section)

Thank you in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The US player can use airpoints when attacked, but not naval.
He allocates them in the support phase (just like he does when attacking). Artillery is done at the same time, as is free-fire zone declaration.

Check the limited intelligence rules (10.0): VC units are only revealed when bombarded or calculating combat odds, which occur in the combat phase (long after the support phase).

Political sections can do search and destroy operations, and, yes, the US player must declare any support before they are revealed. Once revealed, the political section is immediately destroyed (and no combat takes place).
It's a bit of a waste, though, as the US could beat up any single VC unit without bothering with air support anyway. You are better off getting the US player to hunt them down. If the political section attacks, the US might waste a few support points. If the US attack, they will waste support points and will have activated units, which can't be used for other operations.
Remember, they still count for pacification rolls, so keeping them alive (in a campaign) is a better use.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Pardo
Spain
Madrid
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much, that helped a lot to make more sense on the combat sequence.

Regarding the artillery, if I understood correctly the rules, and HQ can support defensively units of his same brigade unlimited number of times, as long as they are in their range, but only once offensively. Am I correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is somewhat confusing.

HQs can fire offensively and defensively (ground support) any number of times, but only to support units of their formation (same brigade or division, depending on the HQ).

It can do this because it does not need to be part of the operation in order to fire. The HQ can fire and still be in an operation later, or could already have been in an operation and still fire.

Units can only be involved in 1 operation per turn, but HQ support doesn't count as being part of the operation (unless you want them to be, so they can move). It can still fire, if supporting units of its own formation and it is in range.

It must already be in range though. If it needs to move, it must be in an operation.

Don't forget, all support points can be used for the whole operation, and can change their role (eg. from support to interdiction and back again) in each round.

Bombardment is different. That is a whole operation all by itself, an HQs can only do that once per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Pardo
Spain
Madrid
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much.

To be sincere, the rulebook would be better with more examples or if the example were more detailed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nyhotep wrote:
The US player can use airpoints when attacked, but not naval.
He allocates them in the support phase (just like he does when attacking). Artillery is done at the same time, as is free-fire zone declaration.

Check the limited intelligence rules (10.0): VC units are only revealed when bombarded or calculating combat odds, which occur in the combat phase (long after the support phase).

Political sections can do search and destroy operations, and, yes, the US player must declare any support before they are revealed. Once revealed, the political section is immediately destroyed (and no combat takes place).
It's a bit of a waste, though, as the US could beat up any single VC unit without bothering with air support anyway. You are better off getting the US player to hunt them down. If the political section attacks, the US might waste a few support points. If the US attack, they will waste support points and will have activated units, which can't be used for other operations.
Remember, they still count for pacification rolls, so keeping them alive (in a campaign) is a better use.


I was reading through this reply and wanted to offer a clarification. Artillery is not committed to an operation during Support Declaration.

I also want to note that committing Political Sections to a Search and Destroy operation is a decent ploy. If you look at the first paragraph of 5.1 the assigning of a target hex can be somewhat arbitrary and the Political Section need not attack after committed to the operation.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Petri P
Finland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
drmark64 wrote:

I also want to note that committing Political Sections to a Search and Destroy operation is a decent ploy. If you look at the first paragraph of 5.1 the assigning of a target hex can be somewhat arbitrary and the Political Section need not attack after committed to the operation.


Even more than a ploy - once NVA is doing S&D operations with the intention of killing ARVN units, political sections can block retreat routes. If the ARVN does not have enough movement to get to the other side of the political sections from the target hex, it cannot even try to retreat.

I.e. 1 or 2 points for interdiction, 2 points extra to leave the target hex which contains an NVA unit, 1 point to move to the next hex (which contains a political section), 2 points to leave that hex, 1 point to enter the next (vacant) hex -> 7 or 8 movement points required. if ARVN has less, then no retreat, but death.

Those leaflets are sharp.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.