Popular Tags: [View All]
Shawn
United States
Muskegon
MI
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Looking for some input from Settlers seasoned gamers. My gaming group likes to play the original Settlers of Catan before and/or after our weekend gaming sessions. We usually play on the nights we play Axis and Allies so have a group of 5 to 6 players.

The original Settlers is fun but our group is looking for something "more" out of ths game. I tried checking out the reviews on the expansion sets but since I'm new to boardgamegeek up to date reviews are hard to come by since these expansions are old news due to them coming out years ago.

I was hoping the experienced gamers could give some insight on what expansion to recommend between Seafarers, Cities and Knights, or Traders and Barbarians (or ones I might be leaving out). Please keep in mind when we play we have 4 to 6 players almost every time. I never play any games with just 2 players.

Thanks from a noob.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Klinck
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've only played Cities & Knights (other than the basic game), but I'd really recommend it. It adds a lot of extra depth to the game, and makes for interesting play if you've kind of "played out" the basic game.

Ian
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikael Ölmestig
Sweden
Halmstad
Halland
flag msg tools
badge
mb
I would second the recommendation of Cities & Knights, since you seem to want something more out of the game. It really shakes things up and even if it does make the game more complex and especially the first times longer play time, it feels more of a game.

I recommend playing Settlers with four players. Usually, I don't mind chaotic games, but with 5 or 6 players things usually turn out a little random.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daric Morris
United States
Tucker
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb