51 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: what's the ideal table size for wargaming? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
robert wood
msg tools
i'm going to have a table made. i want it to be large enough to play most games. i'm thinking of 64" x 44" x 30". i'd appreciate any thoughts on this. thanks.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lindgaard
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I think you need a table a bit larger.

You need room for at least two 22"x34" maps side by side and additional space for tables, record sheets, notepads etc. and somewhere to roll the dice.

I'd say 100"x50"x30". For large games like "Case Blue" or "The Devil's Cauldron" you need an even bigger table !!!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
Well, I have some experience with this.

The issue is two fold - room for the maps and ability you reach across the table while sitting down.

The average comfortable reach is just over 3 ft.

The average single map wargame is 22 X 34 inches.

The best sized poster frame is 24 X 36.

The largest games I play regularly is 1-2 maps long, either 36 + 36 or 24 + 24 - thus a table needs to be at least 6 feet long.

Thus the most efficient size is 3ft X 6ft. I made mine 3ft X 7ft - this leaves room to play 2 single map games at one time, or room to link together 3 maps in the 24 inch direction and still leave one foot for the miscellany and sundries of gaming.

Build two such tables, and you can link them together for the monsters.

My material was abandoned solid core flat office doors, that were exactly 3 ft X 7ft - so it works out nicely.

A 4 ft X 8 ft sheet of at least 5 ply plywood is a great size to use; no cutting to build the table top, and a simple 2 X 4 frame below holds it up.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Barlow
Canada
Stratford
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
No one takes the time to read anymore.
mbmbmbmbmb
board wargaming or miniature wargaming?