Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: In what order do you take trade cards? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Corban
Canada
Newmarket
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I might have overlooked something in the rules. When players are drawing trade cards, the rules simply state that the player with the least number of cities draws first. What if there is a tie? I assumed you just go by AST order for the tied players. True? And where is this mentioned either in the rulebook or online?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Nellis
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think it says, but I would make the same assumption that you did. I tried finding a rule where it stated what to do if two players tied on the census as well and did't find anything either.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Nellis
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah I spoke too soon. In my rulebook:

Quote:
23.0 It is important to remind all players that except when determining victory or resolving conflict, any time a tie occurs between nations, it must be solved in AST order.

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Corban
Canada
Newmarket
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I figured there was a rule like that somewhere in there. Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron K
United States
jamesville
New York
flag msg tools
'80' maxlength='250'> </td> </tr> <tr> <td width="15%" align="right"><b>Avatar OverText</b></td> <td width="85%"> <input type="text" name="overtext[avatar]" value="Train Game anyone?
badge
Train Game anyone?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I created a set of enhanced player mats for classic Civilization which summarizes all these rules. The summary is drawn directly from the AH 2nd printing (some European versions have somewhat different rules).

Look for them in the files section.


Civ Player Mats v3.pdf: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/file/info/22510
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandre Gadoua
Canada
Montréal
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We used to play like this, solving the trade card order issue with the AST order (in case of a tie).

But I think there is a more logical (and historical) way to solve this.

Let's face it, in case of a tie, AST order is an easy way out.

A powerful civilization, a civilization that is more advanced should be able
to « break » a tie and pick trade cards before poorer civilizations.

This is why we break the tie with the AST... But not the order, the civilization in front (the more advanced) takes the trade card first.

If it is still tied, census. The civ with the biggest population should pick first.

If a the civ's are still tied... rock scissor paper.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jennifer Schlickbernd
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bobino wrote:
We used to play like this, solving the trade card order issue with the AST order (in case of a tie).

But I think there is a more logical (and historical) way to solve this.

Let's face it, in case of a tie, AST order is an easy way out.

A powerful civilization, a civilization that is more advanced should be able
to « break » a tie and pick trade cards before poorer civilizations.

This is why we break the tie with the AST... But not the order, the civilization in front (the more advanced) takes the trade card first.

If it is still tied, census. The civ with the biggest population should pick first.

If a the civ's are still tied... rock scissor paper.


I take it you like the 'runaway winner' issue the game already has?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandre Gadoua
Canada
Montréal
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

I've never encountered « runaway winner » games (we play the AH original version).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jennifer Schlickbernd
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bobino wrote:

I've never encountered « runaway winner » games (we play the AH original version).


But you would agree that you are giving the leader of the game an additional advantage? That's what I mean by 'runaway leader'.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandre Gadoua
Canada
Montréal
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you are right, it does give an advantage to the leader.
But not always...

If a red trade card (calamite) is on top it becomes a disadvantage.
If he takes the last card of a deck, it becomes an advantage.

But our main reason was to be historically accurate and logical.

Thank you for your comment, if the advantage is too big, we'll reconsider.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.