Shelter Island Heights
Re:Can the French turn red?
1. What would happen if say Portugal (red piece) were to become a French Ally. Would the french the use the red piece if he were to deploy a Portugese corps? Somewhat confusing.
No. It is explicitly said that red pieces can only be used by the Coalition player and, in the case of minor British allies, only if he controls the minor in question. There is no French/Portuguese corps.
2. Rule 13.1A
Exception: Any minor country previously detached from Austria or Preußen by the French player must be immediately returned to its original ruler if (a) it surrenders to
Coalition armies and (b) its original ruler is a Coalition member. If the latter condition is not met, the minor country remains detached, but under Coalition control.
So if France were to have an army in Sachsen, and Preussen became a CM. Would Sachsen then become a part of Preussen again i.e. the French army would technically be on coalition controlled Preussian soil?
No since condition (a) is not met--Sachsen has not surrendered to Coalition armies.