Popular Tags: [View All]
Drew Spencer
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I just started playing with the 7-row expansion recently. I had previously stuck to the Embassy Rush strategy and averaged about 45 points per game. With the 7-row expansion, I've switched to another strategy which so far seems to average about the same. My most recent game I won with 51 points.

Take wood as the starting resource and build the Sawmill in Spring if able. If unable, don't build in Spring and save it.

Summer, build the sawmill if you haven't already. Transmute your wood into two gold. If you've gotten very lucky you may be able to build the Quarry this season, but I wouldn't expect it.

Build the Quarry in Autumn. If able, build the Guard Tower, but don't sweat it because going into the first battle with 0 military gives you a pretty good chance at success anyway.

For the rest of the game, keep the following priorities:

Always transmute both wood and stone in Summer to give you 5 extra gold. Even if you have to put off building for a turn, this strategy hinges on you getting all those extra resources.

Build the Wizard's Guild row whenever possible and the Cathedral row otherwise. The Wizard's Guild row will be the more urgent one. If done correctly, and with decent luck, you should have both the Wizard's Guild and Cathedral finished by Summer of the fifth year at the latest. Do not build anything else; spend any remaining seasons hording as many resources as possible.

Before the last battle, hire soldiers until you have either a total military of 6 or 7, whichever gets you to an even number of remaining resources. You should get at least 2 extra points from the Cathedral.

This strategy gets you a lot of extra gold, so make good use of the alchemist, which is usually not taken by other players in my experience. You won't need very much wood, and you'll need a lot of stone, so focus on getting stone wherever possible.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide