Popular Tags: [View All]
Celso Távora
Brazil
Cruzeiro Novo
DF
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, everyone.
This is my first post, so please be nice.

I've been teaching English for 17 years, and I love it.
I use games on a regular basis in class (all levels, all kinds of students) and I usually get great results. So, what I'm asking here is suggestions for games which can improve my students' vocabulary and speaking skills. Keep in mind that I've already tried Scrabble, Taboo, Guesstures and Pictionary.

Thanks in advance,
Celso Távora.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I promise I will not kill you until you reach the top.
United States
Allen Park
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Have you joined the 2017 Secret Cthanta yet?
badge
mb
I think Word Blur might be a good choice. it's a bit like pictionary with words. Players are divided into teams. One player on each team reads the word, then the clue-givers start arranging words to try to get the other members of their team to guess the word they're pointing at. A good vocabulary helps, but being able to envision the clues can also be useful.

To just encourage fluency, I think Once Upon a Time: The Storytelling Card Game might be a good choice. Players tell a story and play cards from their hands as elements of the story match their card. The goal is to make a coherent story and arrive at your happy ending. Other players can interrupt the story if they have a card referencing one of the elements you use or if the current storyteller gets stuck.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Celso Távora
Brazil
Cruzeiro Novo
DF
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marion Jensen
United States
Taylorsville
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb