Subject: Individuals vs. Separation of Church and State rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
I have to admit my verbal skills may not be up to normal today and I am short of time. But one thing that has been driving me crazy in the RSP forum through numerous threads this past month is the idea that some individual people or groups shouldn’t be trying to have political impact because of *why* they hold certain views.

If I am a rabid environmentalist because:

I am secular humanist and want to save the planet for the future of humanity

I am a crystal worshiping new age hippy who wants to work for world harmony with nature.

I am a health freak and want less chemicals and more organics for my own personal health and family

I am a committed wing-nut believer in a traditional religion that takes the idea of stewardship seriously.

I am a money grubbing earth hater but have invested in a major recycling plant and hope to make a killing if I can get everybody in my area on the “recycle” band-wagon.

I happen to love puppies and the local kennel club president is an environmentalist and I want to impress him.

Or any other reason one can possibly think up, than these are the reasons and issues that get to inform my vote. If I want to form a political action group called “Puppy lovers who are pro Green” that is my choice and the voice of choice for anybody I can get on board with my agenda and concerns enough to participate or give me money.