Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Descent: The Road to Legend» Forums » Rules

Subject: Treachery in Lt. Encounters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andre Wichmann
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
Hi,

I have a rules question regarding the OL hand in Lieutenant encounters. The rules say:

"if the overlord has any treachery, he may spend it on a hand of cards.
Each card added to his hand in this way costs its normal
treachery cost. Additionally, two cards without a treachery cost
can be added to his hand for one treachery of the correct type"

I'm confused by the word "additionally" in the second sentence. Let's say I have 2 points of treachery, what does it mean for my hand for an Lieutenant encounter?

a) 2 treachery cards

b) 2 treachery cards plus 2 non-treachery cards

c) 2 treachery cards plus 4 non-treachery cards

Confused thanks in advance,

-Kylearan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Rozmiarek
United States
Liberty Hill
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During a Lt encounter for each point of treachery you may either buy one treachery card or two normal OL cards of the correct type (event, trap, monster). So with 2 treachery you could start a Lt. encounter with:

1) 2 treachery cards
OR
2) 1 treachery card and 2 normal OL cards
OR
3) 4 normal OL cards

There was a discussion about this recently on the FFG forums: http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffgforums/posts/list/16020...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Filip
Canada
New Westminster
BC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
"c" would be the correct answer as phrased in the rulebook.

However, I suspect poor wording so I always interpreted that you can either:
-Spend 1 treachery point to gain 1 card marked with treachery symbol (i.e. from the expansions)
-Spend 1 treachery point to gain 2 cards not marked with treachery symbol, but matching type (from the base game)

So in your case you can have:
- 2 treachery cards
- 1 treachery plus 2 non treachery
- 4 non treachery
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Daneman
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is not quite correct. Treachery cards have a Treachery COST, which may be higher than 1. So 2 treachery points don't necessarily get you 2 treachery cards. You could get the following with 2 treachery:

- 2 treachery cards of 1 treachery cost each
- 1 treachery card of 2 treachery cost
- 1 cost 1 treachery card plus 2 non-treachery cards
- 4 non-treachery cards

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Rozmiarek
United States
Liberty Hill
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mishenka wrote:
This is not quite correct. Treachery cards have a Treachery COST, which may be higher than 1. So 2 treachery points don't necessarily get you 2 treachery cards.


Ah yes, very true...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Wichmann
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
Hi,

thanks all for your answers, and especially for the link!

Looking forward to playing this game finally...

-Kylearan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.