Subject: From gateway to gamers in three easy sessions: part three rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Buz
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is the third in a three part series of how I took a group of college students from gateway to gamer's games in three sessions. I work as a Residence Hall Director and therefore spend a lot of time around college students. With my wife out of town for five days, I had several days to rope the guys into the world of gaming.

With the rousing success of Power Grid the night before, Vlad, Ben, Aaron and I got back together to play. Walter joined the fun, but Ben had to go early. He had just wanted to see the board set up with the beautiful components and learn the rules for future reference. We settled in for a four-player slugfest of early economics. This was only my second game, and the first was marred with mistakes and AP from one of my opponents. I would say we were all beginners.

Explanation and examples took about 20 minutes, which isn't as bad as I had feared. That twenty minutes included a discussion of "How do you find all of these games anyway?" which led to me giving out some propaganda related to this website and others.

I had won last game handily against different opponents by combining a major shipping lane with a Siap Faji empire stretching horizon to horizon--not so this time, as you will see. I stated with Java Rice, with an eye on Siap Faji down the line, Aaron and Walter took ships, and Vlad put spice where there was no shipping available. He was the early target of my merger. We all researched slots, so I would have to wait to acquire his company. (Not to mention that Siap Faji comes in during era B, but I would've gone for the slot even if it were legal to merge rice/spice in turn 2)