Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Magic Realm» Forums » Rules

Subject: Walking the Woods rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MGS
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Warhammer: Diskwars
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you need to be on a tile that says "woods" to walk the woods? I suspect not. So, can you walk the woods in any tile?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukasz Respondek
Poland
Pawonkow
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't give you a page from the rules, but when I experimented with walking the woods in Realmspeak, I was able to do it in any clearing. Note that it still took me 2 move phases before I was able to enter mountain clearings, and I could also use only basic phases when in caves.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ray
United States
Carpentersville
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no reference to any need for it to be a "woods tile" clearing.

Here's what a search of the 3.1 rules PDF returns when you search for "Walking the Woods":

Quote:
7.3.4 Walking the Woods: When transformed into a beast that
“walks the woods”, a character or denizen can move from
clearing to clearing within a tile without following the roadways.
He can record and do a Move to any clearing in his tile. He must
follow the roadways normally when he moves from one tile to
another.
a. When he moves, his horses move with him.
b. When a beast moves from clearing to clearing, a follower
can follow it only if he is also a beast or if the clearings are
connected by a roadway. If the clearings are joined by a hidden
path or secret passage, everyone who is following the beast
discovers it.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MGS
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Warhammer: Diskwars
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wtrollkin2000 wrote:
There is no reference to any need for it to be a "woods tile" clearing.

Here's what a search of the 3.1 rules PDF returns when you search for "Walking the Woods":

Quote:
7.3.4 Walking the Woods: When transformed into a beast that
“walks the woods”, a character or denizen can move from
clearing to clearing within a tile without following the roadways.
He can record and do a Move to any clearing in his tile. He must
follow the roadways normally when he moves from one tile to
another.
a. When he moves, his horses move with him.
b. When a beast moves from clearing to clearing, a follower
can follow it only if he is also a beast or if the clearings are
connected by a roadway. If the clearings are joined by a hidden
path or secret passage, everyone who is following the beast
discovers it.




I read a couple of times and what you guys are saying was my impression. To me, it is just an unfortunate choice of name since there are specific "Woods" tiles. Another difficulty with the nomenclature is "forest" because the tile can be all cave and if you are not in a clearing or roadway, you are in the "forest" even though there is nothing that remotely looks like one.

Thanks for all the help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ronaldo wrote:
I read a couple of times and what you guys are saying was my impression. To me, it is just an unfortunate choice of name since there are specific "Woods" tiles. Another difficulty with the nomenclature is "forest" because the tile can be all cave and if you are not in a clearing or roadway, you are in the "forest" even though there is nothing that remotely looks like one.


Yeah, I think "prowling" or "the wilds" would make better or at least less ambiguous terms.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.