Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Avoiding Lost in Time and Space? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Silas Humphreys
United States
California
flag msg tools
OK, another interesting edge case here. Two investigators had entered the Dreamlands via the same gate, which was the only one to the Dreamlands on the board. One of them took his encounter, and was still OK. The other one, Sister Mary, took her encounter and received the "You've completed your task, now be fast or be LiTaS" encounter. She failed the speed check, but thanks to her special ability, wound up at South Church, with the gate to the Dreamlands closed. Now, this should have left the other investigator automatically LiTaS, but he had a gate box, which meant he could return from the Dreamlands to any gate. We ruled at the time that the Gate Box meant he wasn't automatically LiTaS, but was that right, or should he have wound up in limbo?

The fun part is, next turn, two investigators returned and sealed anyway, taking us up to six Elder Signs on the board and winning while he was still in the Dreamlands...

Quote of the game: "There was a Byakhee stuck in the sweatband" (we use my fedora as a monster cup, and one of the chits had gotten stuck under the sweatband; I dislodged it, and then explained what I was doing)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Dean
Australia
Earlwood
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are not "automatically" LiTaS when a gate shuts in front of you. It is only on your movement phase when you SHOULD be returning, but there is no "door". So your first investigator would have moved to 2nd half of Dreamlands and gone about their encounter...or used the gate box. (haven't seen that spell in awhile so not sure the timing on when to cast it).

We have had a game where such an thing happened...then in the hope against hope, the 2nd gate to the same OW opened in time to allow 2nd investigator to get out!

So I would say you did it just fine.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Silas Humphreys
United States
California
flag msg tools
I think you're thinking of the Find Gate spell. A Gate Box is an item which allows the investigator using it to return to any gate in Arkham, rather than just the gate(s) leading to the Other World he or she is returning from. That makes every open gate a viable return spot, so he has a return path as long as a single gate is open - and closing all the gates is a win anyway (as long as there are enough gate trophies).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
You only go to LiTaS if the OW you are returning from no longer has a gate open. But you would only check this at the time you are moving from the 2nd Area back to Arkham in Phase 2 (or if an encounter from Phase 4 instructs you to return early). With the Gate Box, this allows you to go back to any open gate.

The only way you would get LiTaS with a Gate Box is if ALL of the gates are closed the moment you are trying to return.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
The only way you would get LiTaS with a Gate Box is if ALL of the gates are closed the moment you are trying to return.


What about unconscious/insane in OW? Or an encounter that if you fail it has you LiTaS'd? There is one nasty encounter where if you're in the 1st area of the OW, you're LiTaS, if in the 2nd, move back to the 1st. IIRC, it's even in the "other" section of a yellow card. What about those Brian ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Dam the Man wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
The only way you would get LiTaS with a Gate Box is if ALL of the gates are closed the moment you are trying to return.


What about unconscious/insane in OW? Or an encounter that if you fail it has you LiTaS'd? There is one nasty encounter where if you're in the 1st area of the OW, you're LiTaS, if in the 2nd, move back to the 1st. IIRC, it's even in the "other" section of a yellow card. What about those Brian ?

The only way you would get LiTaS when trying to return to Arkham with a Gate Box is if ALL of the gates are closed the moment you are trying to return. You can get LiTaS froma variety of other things as well.

Better?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dice Hate Me
United States
Chapel Hill
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
The boardgame blog with worse luck than you! dicehateme.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Dam the Man wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote:
The only way you would get LiTaS with a Gate Box is if ALL of the gates are closed the moment you are trying to return.


What about unconscious/insane in OW? Or an encounter that if you fail it has you LiTaS'd? There is one nasty encounter where if you're in the 1st area of the OW, you're LiTaS, if in the 2nd, move back to the 1st. IIRC, it's even in the "other" section of a yellow card. What about those Brian ?

The only way you would get LiTaS when trying to return to Arkham with a Gate Box is if ALL of the gates are closed the moment you are trying to return. You can get LiTaS froma variety of other things as well.

Better?


Yeah, Brian, sheesh... you should really be more detailed in your answers. You're slipping.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.