Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Gathering Storm» Forums » Sessions

Subject: My First Game - Solo against Robot rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Arlington
United States
Summerdale
AL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok this was my first game of RFTG, not just first solo game against the robot player, but my first game ever. I had bought the game recently, hadn't had a chance to play it with real people yet and then this expansion came out, so I figured playing the robot might not teach me how to play against people, but could be good just to learn how to play period.

I think it worked. I lost to the robot, but it was close and I think I played everything right. (I think I forgot to draw a card once or twice when I chose the Settle option, but otherwise, pretty sure I got everything right.) The iconography was not so hard for me at all. The only symbol I had a tiny bit of trouble with was finding the reference to the little circle that designates Rebel worlds.

I played on easy level with random start worlds and even though this was my first game, I did not go with the pre-set hands.

Start Worlds

Dave - Alpha Centauri
Robot - New Sparta

One thing I noted about the robot with New Sparta. With its Settle action drawing five cards every time, the robot NEVER came close to exhausting its play hand.

Turn 1

Dave - Explore 1, Develop
Robot - Develop, Settle


I developed Expedition Force (1VP), the robot got lucky in its Development and the first development it flipped was a six-point Mining League (6VP) and since the Robot still had one credit to its name, it got that and then Settled New Survivalists (1VP). I had nothing I could afford or wanted to afford to settle in the Settle phase. In retrospect, I should have developed Space Mercenaries on the first turn instead, then I could have put out a planet too.

VPS: Dave - 1, Robot - 8

Turn 2

Dave - Explore 1, Develop
Robot - Settle, Consume x2


I developed Space Mercenaries (0VP) this turn better late than never. The robot could not respond to my Develop as it had no credits left. I settled Alien Robot Sentry (2VP), the robot settled Runaway Robots (1VP). Since the Robot's economy was zero, the Consume x2 netted no VPs this time, but economy went up to 1.

VPS: Dave - 3, Robot - 9

Turn 3

Dave - Explore 1, Consume: Trade
Robot - Settle, Consume x2


The robot settled Damaged Alien Factory (2VP). I settled Smuggling Lair. I used Smuggling Lair in the Consume phase to get a boatload of cards. The Robot gained 2 VPs from the Consume x2 and its Economy went to 2.

VPS: Dave - 4, Robot - 13

Turn 4

Dave - Settle, Settle
Robot - Develop, Settle


I developed Investment Credits (1VP). For the robot, it was Space Marines (1VP). In the first Settle phase, I settled Rebel Miners (1VP) and the robot settled Malevolent Lifeforms (2 VP) with its Settle action. In the second Settle phase, I settled Epsilon Eridani (1VP), the robot settled Outlaw World with its Settle response.

VPS: Dave - 7, Robot - 17

Turn 5

Dave - Settle, Settle
Robot - Settle, Settle


Finally a turn where I made up some ground on the robot! I managed to settle both Pirate World (2VP) and Lost Alien Warship, the latter using Space Mercenaries Settle power by discarding cards for temporary Military strength. The robot, meanwhile, settled Alien Robot Scout Ship (2VP) and Last of Uplift Gnarrsh (ZERO VP). Yay, a zero VP world for the robot!

VPS: Dave - 12, Robot - 19

Turn 6

Dave - Explore 1, Explore 2
Robot - Develop, Consume x2


Here's how I figured things coming into this turn. I'm down seven points and the robot has 10 cards in its tableau, 2 more and the game ends. I didn't have any really big ticket items in my hand at this point. So I took a gamble. Yes, the robot could have gotten two Settles again (which would have both worked, its hand was huge at this point), or a Develop and Settle (same thing), but if I chose Settle, I could probably almost guarantee the robot might finish up its tableau this round.

So I went for the two Explores, hoping I'd find something good (I would be drawing nine cards with the two Explores) and the game would last one more round. The robot picked Consume x2 as one of its actions so I WAS going to get one more round. The robot developed Contact Specialist. The only development I had in response was my Contact Specialist, but I didn't want to play it (even though Investment Credits would have made it free to play), because of the reduction in military power would not then let me play my treasure I found in the Explore phase! The Robot's Consume x2 netted it 4 VPs now and kicked its economy to three. I used the Consume phase to draw more cards, discarding some windfall goods I still had.

VPS: Dave - 12, Robot - 24

Turn 7

Dave - Settle, Settle
Robot - Settle, Settle


Ok, last turn, here goes. I settle Rebel Base (6VP) (using my Military) and Lost Species Ark World (3VP) (discarding the rest of my hand to pay for it). The robot settles Fuel Cache (1VP) and Former Penal Colony (1VP) and the game ends and I end up losing by five points.

FINAL VPS: Dave - 21, Robot - 26

Summary: This was a lot of fun. I think (am pretty sure actually) that I got all the game play elements correct, including what the robot was supposed to be doing each turn. I can see already a couple places where my game PLAY itself could have been improved, starting with the first turn. So, all in all, I don't consider a five point loss to the robot in my first ever game to be too bad.

Comments from others who have played a lot more would be welcomed!

hope this was useful/fun for someone else.
Dave
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike christiansen
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dave-

I'm in the same boat as you. i can't get anyone to play RftG with me. I am hoping to pick up the expansion soon. Thanks for the example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Arlington
United States
Summerdale
AL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
revision: I actually only lost by four points. I missed in my notes about the game, the one VP chip I got from the Consume phase on Round 6 from Epsilon Eridani. So I ended with 22 VP not 21.

Dave
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Erm.... Unless I have been playing it wrong myself (which could be the case), this is wrong. I cant find anything in the rulebook which says you get to respond to something the robot does. So, if you dont choose settle, you cant settle, even if the robot chooses to do so.

Whilst this does seem wrong, I really cant see anything to say otherwise in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Arlington
United States
Summerdale
AL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Really? I had just assumed it was like the regular game, where every phase that was chosen by some player is executed by both players. You just don't get the bonus if you didn't choose the phase as an action yourself.

I should go watch that game on video against the robot again!

Dave
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Arlington
United States
Summerdale
AL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, it looks like according to the video tutorial, I did have it right. If the robot chooses a phase and I don't, I DO get to execute it (without any bonus) just like the regular game.

Dave
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That would account for me losing 51:15 against the Robot this afternoon then!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
DocSavage2001 wrote:


Turn 1

Dave - Explore 1, Develop
Robot - Develop, Settle


I developed Expedition Force (1VP), the robot got lucky in its Development and the first development it flipped was a six-point Mining League (6VP) and since the Robot still had one credit to its name, it got that and then Settled New Survivalists (1VP). I had nothing I could afford or wanted to afford to settle in the Settle phase. In retrospect, I should have developed Space Mercenaries on the first turn instead, then I could have put out a planet too.

VPS: Dave - 1, Robot - 8


Wow, I've been playing this wrong. I re-read the rules and sure enough under 'Game end' it says 'Add the robot's VP chips and tableau VPs, scoring each 6-cost development card or counter as 6 or 9 VPs, depending on the selected game difficulty.

I've been playing the robot actions correctly but instead of giving it 6 for it's 6-cost development cards I've been calculating them according to the robot's tableau. That's probably another 3-5 points per game, but could be quite a bit more. This isn't going to help my ~70% winrate...No wonder people are complaining so much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.