Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Middle Kingdom» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ties Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
G. Gambill
United States
Shawnee on Delaware
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played a game with three players. Two of us tied with bids of five, and the other player played a bid of a three. According to the rules, tied bid cards are not removed, but added to the following round. They tied in the bid order, so they claim no cards this round. Does that mean that the player who played the three will actually get first pick of the cards before they are discarded since he was not part of the tie? Thanks for anyone who can help with this question

Also, same question, if in the next round they add the exact same card to their bids, and the third player played their four bid card, the rules state that the players who tied for the second time claim no cards, and draw from the top of the deck, one card each. Does this mean that the player who bid a four gets to claim a card from the auction set before it is cleared away? Thanks!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Memento ferrugo
badge
Memento ferrugo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. The player who played a 3 will get to take a card and then the rest are discarded (after the heir receives his tribute, of course, should the card be in play).

Also yes to the second question. The non-tying player will get to select a card before the heir and then the rest are gone.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
G. Gambill
United States
Shawnee on Delaware
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clearing that up! The ties thing works so intuitively in a two player game (no one gets anything that round unless someone has the heir), but in a three or four player games, the situation I described happens so much more often, and it just seemed strange that a losing bid would actually get first choice based on the higher bid tie. Thanks again! This seems like a great little gem of a game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.