Joe Grundy
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Preamble

The room is low lit. A toxic haze fills the room, enough to make eyes water for those less hardened to this seedy environment. Dim lighting barely illuminates a blue-green playing surface. Two players lean in from the shadows to eye each other warily across the gaming table between them, which is dotted with the three objects of their attention. While relatively new to the rules of this particular game, they are no longer complete novices. And they have a long history of rivalry. Each hopes to out-style the other, possibly with an astonishing long curve shot to sink the ... duck.

Yes, well... once we changed our daugher's nappy, cleared the air, and turned up the lights so we could see the table a little better we got down to actually playing...

The Setup

Spread out between us we had the "Advanced Board for 2-6 Players", from the top right of page 18. This layout has each bouy sticking out on it's own little peninsula, and we were interested to see how hard it would be to get in, u-turn, and get out. Also whether the likely delay would up the usefulness of bird-dog control in a two player game.

At the outset I placed my duck first, and my wife placed her duck heading for the same first bouy, judging (correctly) that her cards would allow her to move unhindered but interfere with me. She claimed the first bouy, I claimed the bird dog and sent it off toward the bouy I would go for second.

My first bonus action was the "swap with the bird dog" action, and by a cunning misinterpretation of the rules AND forgetting that I read the correct explanation only two days ago, I reached the bouy then swapped with the bird dog AND played a second movement card on that turn. (Having swapped off the bouy with my bonus action, I shouldna played another card.)