Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Tichu» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a Mah Jong be used in a Pair? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Yoder
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Or only as a single card or in a straight?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Nesbitt
Canada
Ajax
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, since there's no other 1 card, a pair is impossible.

Yes, it can be used in a straight, but only as a 1.

Mah Jong is not a wild card, it must only be a 1.

Yes, it can be a single card.

EDIT: I don't think the Phoenix is allowed to make a pair with the Mah Jong, as the rules (if I recall correctly) only allow the Phoenix to perform as a regular, numbered card. I may be mistaken, however.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have two Mah-Jongs in one hand, feel free to lead them as a pair. Otherwise no.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pakpreo
United States
Cambridge
MA - Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's correct. The Phoenix can NEVER be paired up with another special card.

The Mah Jong can be used as part of a straight of lenghts of at least 5 or as a single card. The wish can be used with either the straight or the singles and must be fullfilled if possible at every instance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Kudzma
United States
Millsboro
Delaware
flag msg tools
designer
People are...
badge
SPOCKED!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To be honest I've never even considered it.

I don't think I would ever want to use the Mah Jong in a Pair.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
locusshifter wrote:
I don't think I would ever want to use the Mah Jong in a Pair.


Depends what you pair it with? If you let me pair it with a 2, I would do it a lot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The simple answer is that the rules explicitly say that when the mahjong pheonix is used as a wild card, it can be anything 2-Ace.

Edit: Yes, obviously I meant phoenix.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
curtc wrote:
The simple answer is that the rules explicitly say that when the mahjong is used as a wild card, it can be anything 2-Ace.


The mahjong can never be anything but a 1. Maybe you mean to say the phoenix?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
locusshifter wrote:
To be honest I've never even considered it.

I don't think I would ever want to use the Mah Jong in a Pair.


Against a GrTichu calling opponent, the theoretical-but-illegal "play I-Ph, wish A" could force two aces from the GrTichu caller's hand - which would put a big dent in his chances, usually.

Also, if it were legal, it would follow that stairs (II22...) and full houses (IIxxx) involving two MJs would also be legal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCarthy
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Q: If you play a pair of Mah Jongs, do you get to make 2 wishes? And if you wish for the same card twice are both wishes fulfilled by a single copy of it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.