Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Formula D» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spinning out, tire WP and elimination... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jamie Pollock
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state that when a car loses its last tire WP by overshooting a corner it spins out. The italicized part at the bottom of that page then states that if a car loses more tire WP than it possesses, it is eliminated from the race. Hmm, don't these seem a little contradictory?

So, for example, say a car has 2 tire points and overshoots a corner by 4 - does this mean the car spins out, or is it eliminated straight off? Theoretically this can fit both the above scenarios! If it's the former, does the car spin out after it's overshot by 2 spaces or the full 4?

There's also the situation where a car can lose its last tire WP point, then lose one more on a later corner and just spin out again...

Can anyone sum up these points and clarify the rules for overshooting and tire WP?

Thanks in advance!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Say you have two tire points left and no brakes.

- If you overshoot the corner by exactly 1, you scratch off one tire point and continue on with no negative effect.
- If you overshoot the corner by exactly 2, you scratch off both tires and spin out.
- If you overshoot the corner by 3 or more, you are eliminated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Weinfurther
United States
West Bloomfield
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, if you have 0 tire WP and overshoot another corner:

- If you overshoot by 1 space, you spin out.
- If you overshoot by more than 1 space, you are eliminated.

The net effect of a spinout is usually losing the race, anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nothing contradictory there. "Losing your last point" and "Losing more points than you possess" are two different things. So it's exactly like Dean says. And after you've scratched off your last tire point (and spun out the first time), you spin out whenever you overshoot a corner by 1 space. If you overshoot by more than 1, you're eliminated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wei Jen Seah
Singapore
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
elmonty wrote:
Also, if you have 0 tire WP and overshoot another corner:

- If you overshoot by 1 space, you spin out.
- If you overshoot by more than 1 space, you are eliminated.

The net effect of a spinout is usually losing the race, anyway.


Just to clarify on this point, does this mean that you can never automatically be eliminated if you only overshoot by 1 space? i.e. even if your tire WP is 0, the only way overshooting will cause you to be automatically eliminated is to overshoot by 2 or more spaces?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.