b a n j o wrote:
I think the answer is YES.
The rules define the available locations for a new line of inhabitants:
If a player cannot add an inhabitant to either end of the line, he may begin a new line by placing an inhabitant on any empty border or interior (not wall) space on the board.
The only restriction is a player may not place an inhabitant so it is adjacent to two or more inhabitants.
If I read the rules, the answer does seem to be YES.
However, that is not how we interpreted it. When the situation occurred, we have never branched out.