Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Titan» Forums » Rules

Subject: does split force move? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
JP D
United States
Vestal
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I couldn't find it in the rules, if you split, must one of the legions move? I know they can't move on to the same space, but must they move off? Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent Reuber
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In general, yes, one of the new stacks must move. However, the two stacks can stay in place if there is no movement option available.

For example, let's suppose you roll a "2" and the only choice(s) for moving two hexes are occupied by other of *your* stacks. You can choose to not move either of the blocking stack(s), giving your new stacks no where to go. Their only choice then is to re-combine.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Weintraub
United States
Commack
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Lock him up!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
However, note that there has to be NO movement option available. You can indeed force a recombine by blocking with your own stacks, but if your only movement option involves attacking an opponent's stack, then you are not blocked and must attack with one of the split stacks.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devin Smith
England
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Warbanner wrote:
However, note that there has to be NO movement option available. You can indeed force a recombine by blocking with your own stacks, but if your only movement option involves attacking an opponent's stack, then you are not blocked and must attack with one of the split stacks.


Not quite true: you can attack the opponent's stack with some other stack of yours, preventing one of your splits from attacking that opponent's stack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Weintraub
United States
Commack
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Lock him up!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's a real subtlety; nice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Demeter
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
One thing we like so much about Titan is that you can make subtle changes to the rules if you want. We actually play that you can split behind an opponent and not be forced to hit him. But our best little rule change is allowing Centaurs the ability to go into the bramble spaces in the woods.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Wolff
msg tools
One thing to note that wasn't really stressed in the other replies, is that you don't have to adjust the rest of your moves to allow any split stacks to separate. You can leave a blocking legion in place or even move a legion in to block.
What has to be true is that when you end your movement phase is that any legions in a space still containing more than one of your legions (which necessarily need to all be split offs from one legion) need to not have a location they can legally move to at this point.
There is also an errata (which at one point was official but hasn't been commented on by VG) that you don't have to teleport to satisfy the above requirement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Bass
United States
Venice
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chrisdem wrote:
But our best little rule change is allowing Centaurs the ability to go into the bramble spaces in the woods.


Except that those are trees.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Demeter
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
chockle wrote:
chrisdem wrote:
But our best little rule change is allowing Centaurs the ability to go into the bramble spaces in the woods.


Except that those are trees.


Sorry. Trees. We still allow the centaurs to move into and thru those spots in the woods.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Young
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Old Ways Are Best!
badge
Check Six!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm curious to know why you'd have that house rule. Flyers can go over trees but can't land in them. No other units are allowed to enter such hexes. What is it with the centaurs? Is it so that the lowly centaur finally has a hex that he is native to? Is he alone in that respect among creatures in not having native terrain (not allowed to open the darn box until Christmas)? Just wondering...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.