Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Carpe Astra» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Infiltrate Guilds" question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nigel Buckle
United Kingdom
Thornton Heath
Croydon
flag msg tools
designer
NSKN are publishing my next game :)
badge
Omega Centauri Published in 2014
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Haven't played yet, trying to learn the game. Rules on Infiltrate say

Infiltrate Guilds
• You may use your agents to infiltrate new guilds.
Place your agent markers onto hexes where you don’t currently have an agent; they can move from off the board or from another hex. Your first two moves are free; after that you must pay one credit for each additional move you wish to make.


Are these 2 free moves once only or do you get 2 free moves each turn?

The text 'each additional move' implies it is every turn, but wanted to make sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jackson Pope
United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hiya Nigel,

It is every turn. Your agents may be removed by an opponent during your turn, so each turn you get two free moves.

Cheers,

Jack
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel Buckle
United Kingdom
Thornton Heath
Croydon
flag msg tools
designer
NSKN are publishing my next game :)
badge
Omega Centauri Published in 2014
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.

Tried a 2 player last night (we played this rule correctly), seemed to spend most of the time taking opponents agents off the board - is that usual?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jackson Pope
United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hiya Nigel,

Yeah, that's not unusal, especially when the board is tight if you've not added many tiles. Taking someone's agents off the board when you don't need to is also a way to get them to spend (the very important and scarce) money.

Cheers,

Jack
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Bradley
Australia
Canberra
ACT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
bucklen_uk wrote:
Haven't played yet, trying to learn the game. Rules on Infiltrate say

Infiltrate Guilds
• You may use your agents to infiltrate new guilds.
Place your agent markers onto hexes where you don’t currently have an agent; they can move from off the board or from another hex. Your first two moves are free; after that you must pay one credit for each additional move you wish to make.


Am I correct in assuming that there are no restrictions on a movement, i.e. a marker can be put on any hex that you don't currently occupy as long as it is next to one of your markers and you don't currently occupy one half of the guild tile.
In other words, a movement is in fact a placement of a marker that appears to involve moving one or more hexes, and each turn yo have two such movements.

Hopefully this makes sense as it's late down here. zombie
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jackson Pope
United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hiya Paul,

You can place an agent anywhere, providing you are not on the other half of the same tile, distance 'moved' is unimportant. You get two free moves, but can make additional moves at a cost of one coin each.

At the end of the Infiltrate Guild phase of your turn if you have two or more separate networks of agents you must remove agents from the board until all of your remaining agents are in a single connected network. So it is possible to start a new network by placing your agents away from your existing network and then at the end of the Infiltrate Guilds phase remove your original network if they haven't been connected.

Cheers,

Jack
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Bradley
Australia
Canberra
ACT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Hi Jack,

Thanks for the response. I thought that would be the case.

CaptainJax wrote:

So it is possible to start a new network by placing your agents away from your existing network and then at the end of the Infiltrate Guilds phase remove your original network if they haven't been connected.

Cheers,

Jack


This sounds like an interesting strategy, especially if you Change Tack.


Cheerz,
Paul
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jackson Pope
United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
batcut wrote:

CaptainJax wrote:

So it is possible to start a new network by placing your agents away from your existing network and then at the end of the Infiltrate Guilds phase remove your original network if they haven't been connected.

Cheers,

Jack


This sounds like an interesting strategy, especially if you Change Tack.


Cheerz,
Paul

If you've got money at the end of the game (which is hard - but vital!) it's a great way to perform a sneak slander on someone. Especially in a multi-player game, it allows you to move from attacking one player to another.

Cheers,

Jack
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Roberts
United Kingdom
Burton On Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
Sysop of "Big Bang Burger Bar" Forum (www.bigbangburgerbar.co.uk)
badge
Organiser of "Raiders of the Game Cupboard" (www.raidersofthegamecupboard.co.uk)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CaptainJax wrote:
At the end of the Infiltrate Guild phase of your turn if you have two or more separate networks of agents you must remove agents from the board until all of your remaining agents are in a single connected network. So it is possible to start a new network by placing your agents away from your existing network and then at the end of the Infiltrate Guilds phase remove your original network if they haven't been connected.

Cheers,

Jack


Does this also apply if someone breaks your network on their turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jackson Pope
United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hiya Paul,

Yes, your network only has to be connected at the end of your turn, so if someone breaks it during their turn you have until the end of the Infiltrate Guilds phase of your turn to fix things.

Cheers,

Jack
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.