Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Please help with combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lance Moody
United States
Mason
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi I have the game and am reading the rules and was hoping someone could help me understand the following:

"1. Activate Existing Cylon Ships: Any existing Cylon ships
are activated based upon the icon(s) listed on the card. If
there are multiple icons listed, they are activated from left
to right, following standard activation rules (see “Activating
Cylon Ships” below)."

So any ships already on the board get to move attack etc. according to the rules (only if that type of ship's icon appears on the card?

Then you place the new ships listed on the Cylon Attack Crisis Card? Those new ships DO NOT activate this turn?

Is that correct?

Thanks,

Lance


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
oystein eker
Norway
Unspecified
sola
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes -

Regarding combat and activation in general:

Just follow each step carefully and you can`t go wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Davis
United States
New Concord
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think all the fleet cards say:

1. Activate something.
2. Place more things on the board.
3. Some other effect.

Thus, if you do things in that order, the ships previously on the board move, but then the new ones that appear do not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Gatineau
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lancemoody wrote:
So any ships already on the board get to move attack etc. according to the rules (only if that type of ship's icon appears on the card?

Correct. Keep in mind that the Raiders and Heavy Raiders have different objectives/priorities when moving, and will always go Clockwise when their objective is equidistant.

lancemoody wrote:
Then you place the new ships listed on the Cylon Attack Crisis Card? Those new ships DO NOT activate this turn?

There is at least one Fleet activation card which has special instructions to activate the Raiders you've just placed. Apart from that, you are correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
coolpapa wrote:
1. Activate something.
2. Place more things on the board.

In many cases, activating something can cause that thing to be placed on the board. Do you still do that in this case, even though more things may be added in step 2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Fanjoy
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ekted wrote:
coolpapa wrote:
1. Activate something.
2. Place more things on the board.

In many cases, activating something can cause that thing to be placed on the board. Do you still do that in this case, even though more things may be added in step 2?
Yes. Sucks to be the humans!

edit: to elaborate

If, before you start resolving the card, there is one basestar and no raiders on the board, and your crisis has an Activate Raiders icon, the first thing you do is launch two new raiders from the existing basestar, then you proceed to adding the ships listed in step 2 of the crisis card, then you kick in the special effect (step 3) of the crisis card.

For this reason, sometimes as a human it is better to leave one Raider alive rather than eradicating them completely!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.